1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Your First Civ Fail?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Makonnen91, Aug 7, 2013.

  1. Makonnen91

    Makonnen91 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Just got to thinking what you guy's first major blunder on a Civ game was. For example: My first Civ was Civ 3 Complete. Went into thinking it was an RTS. I beelined to gunpowder and built a horde of Musketmen:lol: Needless to say, my assault did not go to well.
     
  2. BD123

    BD123 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Aww, well at least you made it to gunpowder. The first time I played CIV V I thought a Great General was capable of fighting and sent it to my front lines where it was instantly killed by a barbarian. Then Wu Zetian wiped me off the map. Did I mention this was Settler difficulty?
     
  3. ToodleElNoodos

    ToodleElNoodos Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    187
    Not my first fail, but I was playing around as Polynesia on a Continents map. I went Tradition, Napoleon went Honor. I was trying to beeline a religion, he beelined my capital.

    Shortest game I ever had.
     
  4. Greizer85

    Greizer85 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,210
    Conquering a City State to straighten my borders (ahem). The 6 near-instant DOWs from all sides did shorten them enough alright! :lol:
     
  5. Eagle Pursuit

    Eagle Pursuit Scir-Gerefa

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    14,206
    A very short game whence I was playing as the Byzantines and got ancient rushed by Japan.
     
  6. HeraldtheGreat

    HeraldtheGreat King

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    Messages:
    906
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Civ IV, when I kept hating on the Ottomans while having little to no land army as the Dutch.

    I remember when I got insanely lucky- I once took Constantinople with three warriors as Persia on turn 15. :crazyeye:. Good thing they updated the combat system.
     
  7. RedFuneral

    RedFuneral Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    141
    So have a scout 60+ tiles from the capital and I find El Dorado...

    I spend the next 200 turns settling the location and trying to build a road to my capital. Suddenly the Ottomans show up on the border of the city with really advanced units and demand all my gold.(they could do that on launch.) They do the same again in 30 turns... the third time I called their bluff. They weren't bluffing. And I never go to finish that road despite doing pretty much nothing but training workers.
     
  8. deity12

    deity12 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    50
    Well I think of any mega-fails, but a only a mega-win. Won Civ 3 map with 5 civs on it once (warlord difficulty) by running a single warrior through all of their undefended capitals (except one where i somehow managed to one-on-one a spearman with him XD).
     
  9. rastak

    rastak Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,541
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Dude, it was about 22 years ago. No way I can recall that.
     
  10. earthwulf

    earthwulf Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Seattle
    NOt my first, but most memorable... waited a couple of turns before settling the first city (wanted to find the right spot) & a barb picks up my settler.
     
  11. shaglio

    shaglio The Prince of Dorkness

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2001
    Messages:
    3,388
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lawrence, MA, USA
    When my cousin first got me into Civ 1, I just enjoyed going out and exploring the map. I never built any buildings because I didn’t have a large GPT (It never occurred to me that building a Marketplace would enhance my economy). So, my cities never grew, I couldn’t build many units, and I never founded more cities.

    Luckily, I didn’t get fed up and quit the game. I overcame my stupidity, I learned to play properly, and I’ve been chugging along for the past 2 decades all the way up to Civ 5 BNW.
     
  12. VainoValkea

    VainoValkea Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,569
    Location:
    The Harsh North
    In Civ II, I was playing a very long game beyond the normal time limit. I wasn't really playing very well and focused more on what's cool beyond victory (in fact I'm not sure if I even knew about "winning" the game back then). The world had been reduced to three surviving Civs: the Sioux were the top Civ, ruling about half of the world, and if I recall correctly, India and my civ the Vikings were of about equal size. India and Sioux fought often. I was allies with India but never bothered to help them in their wars. It was like Nineteen Eighty-Four, except the alliances didn't constantly shift around.

    Then I decided to nuke the Sioux for kicks. Bam, more nukes coming back at me and helicopters taking my cities. Oops.
     
  13. TheGrandWazoo

    TheGrandWazoo Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    166
    Location:
    London
    When I started Civ5, I automatically assumed that like Civ4 the Scout could not attack. In fact I only realised they could attack in BNW!
     
  14. troublmaker

    troublmaker Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    227
    Location:
    St. John's, NL
    Instead of using a general to buff up my army strength I decided to build a defensive position... which I never occupied. Then my enemy occupied that defensive position with ranged and started bombarding my city....
     
  15. fuzzatron717

    fuzzatron717 Holy Warrior

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,024
    Location:
    Canada, eh
    I first ever fail was in civ 5 despite playing civ rev, too easy but the jump to civ 5 was big. So I got the game when vanilla was out Korea wasn't even out yet got Mongolia though. Anyways I started up the game I went to press play now because I thought it was the same as civ rev pick a civ everything random. I did not know civ was random too.

    I got the ottomans I was placed in a nice place mixed with grassland plains and a few hills my neighbours were Kuala Lumpur to the west China to the east and Mongolia to the south. Well I started building buildings and wonders ignoring military only unit I had was my starting warrior which went to spearmen and its final stage pikeman before it died. Around the time of long swords pikes and trebuchets Mongolia declared war me and china were friends but she refused to assist me and Mongolia rushed me with long swords and trebuchets and I had my pike which died pretty quickly. And then China declared war on me Mongolia then took my only city soon afterward. I only built two cities China took the other one after a while built a defence after Istanbul fell.
     
  16. superliminal

    superliminal Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2013
    Messages:
    126
    In Civ 3, I was in a cold-war scenario and didn't realize it. It had been reduced to two civs and I had one continent and Germany had the other. I declared war, and suddenly all my largest cities were annihilated by ICBMs. I tried to retaliate but I had a fraction of the nuclear stockpile. (Sometimes I wish nukes came into play more in Civ 5.)
     

Share This Page