1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Your mistakes when you first started playing Civ3

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by WildFire, Apr 21, 2003.

1. WildFire

WildFire amour

Well? What were some of the mistakes you made when you first got civ3 that might of been so stupid, that you look back now and realize that you had been so stupid to make a problem.

My mistakes when I started playing a year ago was that I drafted, and drafted and drafted ;) I than wondered why my people hated me ;) Another common mistake was that I was always at war with the AI because I wouldnt give them the "tribute" even though they were sometimes doubled the size of my empire.

And my most common mistake way back when, going from despotism to democracy without going to republic or monarchy in between :crazyeye:

2. Turner

Turner Deity Retired Moderator

3. Yoda Power

Yoda Power ✫✫✫✫✫✫✫

I defended all my cities with spearmen all the way through the ages. I never upgradet them, and i never build more than one in each city.

4. cromagnon

cromagnon Emperor

I chopped the same forests over and over and over and over again, not realizing that only the first time do you get 10 shields.

I didn't trade enough, either.

5. Greyhawk1

Greyhawk1 King

I built roads to link cities. Thats all I built them for, it was a while before I stopped saying "stupid AI" for building roads on every tile and went "oh....so thats why they build them in every tile!"

One day, I will read the manual first.

6. cromagnon

cromagnon Emperor

Yes, but in this case, it won't help.

7. WildFire

WildFire amour

Ah, the memories!

I did that a lot. ;)

8. cwood

cwood Chieftain

asttacking to soon that then causes me to die sooner

9. Grille

Grille panel insect

dito.