1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Your Pc Specs

Discussion in 'Computer Talk' started by dosed150, Jul 12, 2007.

  1. dosed150

    dosed150 Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,049
    Location:
    London,UK
    this thread is to compare the specs of our pcs
    if on vista try to include windows experience index scores

    skt 478 pentium 4 2.8ghz 533mhz fsb
    1gb pc2700 ddr ram
    nvidia geforce 7300gt 256mb
    250gb 7200rpm seagate barracuda

    vista wei scores

    processor-4.0
    memory-4.2
    graphics-5.9
    gaming graphics 4.1
    hard drive-5.4
     
  2. Asher

    Asher Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    294
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    These are in the profiles.

    CPU: 2.93 GHz quad-core Core 2
    RAM: 4GB PC8500 DDR2
    Video card: eVGA GeForce 8800 Ultra 768MB (will add a 2nd in the latter half of the year)
    Motherboard: ASUS Striker Extreme
    HDDs: 150GB Raptor (10k rpm); 750GB Seagate 7200.10; 500GB SATA External drive; 160GB Seagate 7200.7 (from old PC)
    Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi

    All of my Vista WEI scores are 5.9...I assume this is the max.
     
  3. Mulholland

    Mulholland Happy New Year!!!!

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,756
    Location:
    Quebec
    AMD Athlon 4200+
    Asus M2N32 SLI deluxe
    Nvidia 7950 GT 512 MB
    2Gigs OCZ Gold 4-4-4-12
    250 gig 7200 Barracuda

    It does the trick. And I have no plans to move to vista anytime soon.
     
  4. Mulholland

    Mulholland Happy New Year!!!!

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,756
    Location:
    Quebec
    Wow that's huge. Must have cost a Fortune.
     
  5. Asher

    Asher Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    294
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Not as much as you might think. Built it myself, went "bargain" hunting. Came to roughly $4000CDN, or $3800US...with tax (15%). This is including everything (case [Antec P182], 800W PSU, aftermarket Zalman CPU cooler, etc). It's ultra-quiet.
     
  6. Mulholland

    Mulholland Happy New Year!!!!

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,756
    Location:
    Quebec
    That's what I meant by a fortune. $4000 is a lot of money you do realize you could pay almost two years tuition with that money.
     
  7. Asher

    Asher Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    294
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    That's only a year's tuition where I'm from. :(

    Fortunately, I'm done with school.
     
  8. Speedo

    Speedo Esse Quam Videri

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,891
    Location:
    NC USA
    Athlon64x2 4400+
    2GB Corsair XMS Pro DDR400 @ 3-3-3-8
    Asus A8N-SLI Premium
    eVGA GF7800 GTX
    Creative X-Fi
    2x Samsung 80GB SATAII in a striped array
    Maxtor 80GB SATA
    Seasonic S12-600W

    I'm not sure what Asher did to get a $3800 price tag, but a system basically comperable to his (quadcore, 4GB RAM 8800 GTX - no point getting the "Ultra") can be had for about what I paid for my setup in early fall '05; less than $2000.

    Really, it's a good time to be building a comp.... Particularly if you're upgrading you get get a very kick-ass system for not all that much. I priced an upgrade for my own system the other day - about $1200 would get a C2D E6700, mobo, 2GB of Corsair XMS DDR2 and a GF8800 GTX.
     
  9. Asher

    Asher Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    294
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    I would really like to see you build a complete system with these specs for $2000.

    The CPU alone is half of that (unlocked Extreme, for overclocking).

    The 8800 Ultra actually made a lot of sense -- I got it for $729CDN. Only $80 more than the GTX at the time, with ~300MHz faster shaders and ~20GB/s more in bandwidth. The Ultras have a new chip stepping (A3) that's optimized for lower power and higher clocks.

    Not to mention it easily overclocks to 650MHz core (stock GTX is 575, most O/C to about 610 ish).
     
  10. Fifty

    Fifty !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    10,649
    Location:
    an ecovillage in madagascar
    blazing fast AMD Sempron 1700mhz

    the vid card is insane (had to get it imported, its not exactly legal in the USA due to the massive power requrements): ATI Mobility Radeon Xpress 200 series.

    228mb of RAM (allows me to simultaneously run 9 different brand new shooters)

    The hard drive is just pointlessly huge, so right now I'm leasing out space on it to Citigroup to hold the credit records for a couple hundred million people: 40 FREAKING GB (no, that's not a typo)

    I'd talk about the Mother Board and whatnot but most of the stuff in it isn't even out on the market yet so I could get in trouble for talking about it.
     
  11. Speedo

    Speedo Esse Quam Videri

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,891
    Location:
    NC USA
    Like I said, basically comperable. Of course you got the ultra high end on everything and paid out the ass for it, but few people can justify double their price for a few percentage extra on synthetic benchmarks.

    On the 8800 Ultra in particular, almost every test I've seen of it had the difference between it and the next competitor (factory overclocked 8800 GTX's) being within the margin of error for the test. Really, no way to justify the cost.
     
  12. Godwynn

    Godwynn March to the Sea

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    20,498
    Pentium IV 3.6ghz
    1gb of RAM
    250gb HD
    ATI X800XT

    That's all I can remember. :(
     
  13. Asher

    Asher Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    294
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Depends on the game, the resolution, and the shader workload.

    The Ultras clock much higher (mine runs stable at 2.1GHz memory, 650MHz core), which is significantly faster than the GTXes. As you increase the resolution (and thus constraints on the memory bandwidth), the Ultra's benefits increase further. Ditto for shader workload, since the Ultra's shaders are clocked faster at the same core clock as the GTX, plus the core is clocked higher.

    The GTX has 86GB/s memory bandwidth @ stock, the Ultra has 102GB/s memory bandwidth at stock. That's a fairly significant difference by itself.

    Serious Sam 2, 2560x1600:
    Ultra: 170
    GTX: 139
    GTS: 97

    That's a pretty linear descent in performance. Certainly more than the margin of error.

    Ditto for Battlefield 2:
    Ultra: 112
    GTX: 92


    Shader-heavy games like Splinter Cell show most benefit:
    http://www.guru3d.com/article/Videocards/428/13/

    1024x768 Splinter Cell:
    Ultra: 234
    GTX: 183

    1280x1024:
    Ultra: 182
    GTX: 137

    1600x1200:
    Ultra: 133
    GTX: 98

    1920x1200:
    Ultra: 116
    GTX: 86

    2560x1600:
    Ultra: 73
    GTX: 53

    As you can see, this is more than the margin of error...

    Also FEAR:
    Ultra: 46
    GTX: 31

    I also stand by my comment that you can't build an equivalent system for $2000.
     
  14. Junglecutter

    Junglecutter Honorable Delegate

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    Singapore
    Pentium D 2.8GHz
    1GB Ram
    256MB Nvidia GeForce 7300LE
    200GB Hard Drive
     
  15. Speedo

    Speedo Esse Quam Videri

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,891
    Location:
    NC USA
    After mail-in rebates, you've got $350 to play with for case and storage.

    Reading comprehension. Factory overclocked GTX != standard GTX. I've yet to see a test where the difference between factory OC and Ultra is more than 2-3%.

    Even so, almost every example you posted is irrelevant in real world performance - you're paying bragging rights, and little else. Truthfully, any 8800GTX will slaughter basically any DX9 out there now, and all of them are mediocre at best on DX10.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Asher

    Asher Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    294
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    You think that's comparable? 2.4GHz vs 2.93GHz.
    PC6400 vs PC8500.
    SLI capable motherboard vs non-SLI motherboard.

    It's also missing:
    Storage
    Optical drives
    Case

    If I wanted to build a humble computer such as that, I would've. Unfortunately, it's not nearly as fast nor as expandable as the system I've gotten now. You may think it's overkill, but for what I use it for, it's not.

    Well, duh, since the architecture is the same. The key point of the Ultra is it can clock faster. Please learn about the A3 stepping and its advantages in the G80.

    This is nonsense on many levels.

    How can something be "mediocre at best" when there is nothing better?

    Additionally, I suspect you know next to nothing about how these modern GPUs work. Here's a little hint for you: there's nothing fixed-function DX9 about them. They are massive MIMD engines with lots of small FPUs. There is no different to the hardware if it's DX9 or DX10 -- the difference is to the programmer.

    FWIW, I'm a hobbyist games programmer and I'm working on porting Ogre3D to DX10. I'm well aware of how it works, are you?
     
  17. MarineCorps

    MarineCorps Explosion!

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    8,187
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cape Cod
    My desktop s currently dead due to a bad motherboard so I am in the process of upgrading it. This is what it will have when I am done

    Motherboard: ASUS M2N
    CPU: Socket AM2 Athlon x2 4800 2.5Ghz
    RAM: 1GB DDR2-800
    Video Card: 7800GTX (got it for $140)
    PSU: Xion 600W
    Optical: DVD ROM
    HD: 250GB SATA II
    Wireless mouse and keyboard
    got some other drives on the front. But I never need those.
     
  18. Speedo

    Speedo Esse Quam Videri

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,891
    Location:
    NC USA
    Mainly I think you're in the position of having money to burn and like to be a pompous ass about it, but I won't hold that against you. Feel free though to expound upon your usage where it's so critical.

    Please learn to read. Factory OC'd parts have been available long before the A3 revision and still perform with a few % of the Ultra.

    When the performance is borderline at best, even at low resolutions (1024x768, 1280x1024), I call that "mediocre". As in, "you'd best wait for G90 if you're really interested in DX10 performance".

    Good for you. If this humble peasant may be allowed to speak in your mighty presence, he would tell you that you aren't the only one allowed knowledge of the mysterious computer, as others of us work with them on a daily basis as well.
     
  19. GenMarshall

    GenMarshall Night Elven Ghost Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    42,934
    Location:
    New Suramar City, Vekta, United Terran Systems
    Model: Dell XPS M170
    Processor: Intel Pentium M Processer 2GHz
    Ram: 1 GB of ram
    OS: Windows XP Pro SP2
    Video: NIVDIA GeoForce Go 6800 Ultra
    Sound: SigmaTel C-Major Audio
    CD: NEC DVD+-RW ND-6650A
    HD: 93.1 GB Fujitsu Mhv2100AH

    Wireless Mouse
    External Floppy Drive (I use it once in a great while)

    And no, I'm not going on Vista. I'm sticking with XP :p
     
  20. Asher

    Asher Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    294
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Sure.

    1) Real-time HD transcoding into MPEG-4/h.264 for streaming onto devices around the home
    2) Game development and all it entails (3D Studio, compiling massive Visual Studio projects, Photoshop, etc).
    3) Playing games (Flight Simulator X still doesn't run at a stable 30fps).
    4) Run Windows Home Server via vmware

    I am well aware they have been available. I am also aware that the A3 revision allows for higher clock speeds by tweaking the core layout.

    For instance, the A3 revision hits 690MHz core and 2500MHz memory at Guru3D: http://www.guru3d.com/article/Videocards/428/14/
    The A2 revision hits 610MHz core and 2040MHz memory at Guru3D:
    http://www.guru3d.com/article/Videocards/391/26/

    What is "DX10 performance"? That statement is completely uneducated. It's not like there's a "geometry shading unit" on the G80 that is underpowered or anything. It's a massive array of processors...DX9 or DX10 or OpenGL or CUDA...it doesn't matter.

    While you may work with them, you're clearly not up to speed on much of the details being discussed right here. Most people who work in "IT" are not, as luck would have it. Bring your crazy ideas to a technical discussion board such as Beyond3D and learn a few things. DX10 game developers (for real, well known commercial games) post their impressions of technology and their experiences.
     

Share This Page