1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

zoc

Discussion in 'Civ6 - Strategy & Tips' started by civviefan, Oct 12, 2017.

  1. civviefan

    civviefan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    92
    Gender:
    Male
    What is Zone of Control? Can someone please explain with examples from the game? Thanks
     
  2. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    6,430
    Here is what I have written in my notes - gained from lots of testing so I know they are accurate.

    A zone of control is only in place for civilizations at war with each other

    All military units exert a ZOC on the tile they are in. For example, an enemy apostle cannot move through the tile of your archer due to this ZOC. This central ZOC does not allow friendly units to pass through the tile while an enemy ZOC also is in the same tile.

    Some units and buildings exert a ZOC one tile around them. This ZOC is only in place with civilizations they are at war with. These units are

    · Melee class units
    · Anti-cavalry
    · Non-ranged Light Cavalry
    · Non-ranged Heavy Cavalry
    · Ranged units with a ZOC promotion
    · Immortals Unique Unit
    · All Naval military units
    · Cities and encampments

    A unit entering an enemy zone of control cannot move an additional tile that turn until after they attack an adjacent enemy unit or city. The unit may also perform other actions like promotion and looting while they have the movement points to do so.

    There is no movement point cost to attack a unit beyond the cost of moving into the enemy tile but normally an attack ends the movement phase. Units that have a promotion that allows them to move after combat (promotions of heavy cavalry, naval raider, recon and melee troop types) can move additional tiles after combat if they have sufficient movement points to do so.

    A unit that has not yet moved this turn or has attacked an adjacent enemy unit can leave an enemy zone of control without penalty unless that unit is moving into another enemy zone of control in which case it faces the normal penalties and restriction for moving into a zone of control.

    Some units ignore zones of control. These are
    • All heavy and light cavalry
    • Naval Raider class units
    • All air units (balloons and helicopters are not deemed an air units)
    • Units connected to light cavalry with the Escort Mobility promotion
    Note: All non-military units are affected by ZOC including great generals.
    In the next patch, religious units will exert a ZOC but we have to wait the details

    Land units do not exert a zone of control on water tiles whether embarked or disembarked. An exception is the central ZOC is in place for embarked units, allowing them to siege a water city.
    Naval Units do not exert a zone of control on land tiles
    Rivers prevent a zone of control extending to the other side of a river tile border.
    A zone of control does extend into an enemy city.
    Cities are deemed under siege when all their surrounding tiles are in an enemy zone of control regardless of the presence of any friendly unit in the tile.
    The zone of control ceases to exist the moment the unit or building is no longer enemy controlled or a peace treaty is agreed.

    You want an example?... I only have this pic to hand
    The horsemen ignore ZOC so can run around the swordsmen
    The archers obey ZOC so while for example the right archer has 2 movement points, if it moves next to an enemy swordsman it can no longer move (but can do other things like promote and attack) The left archer is already in an enemy ZOC but can always move 1 space left or right but could move 2 spaces backward because it is not entering a ZOC.

    upload_2017-10-12_16-11-19.png
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2017
  3. Turrdy

    Turrdy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2016
    Messages:
    297
    Location:
    CH
    Sooo... a city next to a lake can practically never be "under siege" since your land units do not exert zoc on water tiles and you won't have a naval unit in a 2-tile lake? or are lakes handled differently from ocean?
     
  4. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    6,430
    Well I have had one on a 1 tile lake but that was more in honor to a Sci Fi book called "The use of Weapons" although it had its uses it was in defense not offense.
    I believe that's the case from memory, certainly for ZOC rules, I would have to specifically test to make 100% sure.... my cities are rarely at issue unless its in the first 50 turns.
     
  5. Turrdy

    Turrdy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2016
    Messages:
    297
    Location:
    CH
    Well i think the question is if embarked units excert ZOC on their own tile or not, respectively which of the rules you stated counts first:
    or
     
    Victoria likes this.
  6. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    6,430
    I really appreciate these finer points being raised... I will look into it
     
    Turrdy likes this.
  7. Turrdy

    Turrdy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2016
    Messages:
    297
    Location:
    CH
    Some other (maybe) interesting thoughts:
    Do melee units with the Amphibious promotion excert ZOC over rivers? (I mean, maybe... who knows :D)
    Do support or civilian units that have a formation with a tier 4 light cav that has the Escort Mobility promotion ignore ZOC, too?
    Does Alexander's Hetairoi also ignore ZOC? I don't have the DLCs and the wiki doesn't state so. (also Heavy Chariot, Varu, Mamluk, Cossack, and Rough Rider miss that attribute on their wiki page, and I'm not sure about them. The wiki states that on the Winged Hussar and War-Cart pages though!)
     
  8. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    6,430
    I had them written in earlier for clarification but then decided to drop them for clarity of rule. Might have to add them back in
    No... neither does a helicopter that gets no negatives for attacking over a river.
    I will test but probably not... a great general with Cavalry does not ignore ZOC... I doubt they do but you never know, thanks
    The rules are based on their class so for example the Egyptian chariot does not because it is ranged cavalry while the Mameluke does. the exception to this is immortals
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2017
    Turrdy likes this.
  9. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    6,430
  10. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    6,430
    @Turrdy
    An embarked unit works, at least in firetuner, heart not there without the embarkjed unit
    upload_2017-10-13_15-3-51.png

    No ZOC outside their own tile
    upload_2017-10-13_15-5-57.png

    But 2 will do
    upload_2017-10-13_15-7-34.png

    Lakes are safe... unless embarked... size 3 lake in this example
    upload_2017-10-13_15-15-27.png

    And Here to show you Amphibious does not help
    upload_2017-10-13_15-11-16.png
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2017
  11. Turrdy

    Turrdy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2016
    Messages:
    297
    Location:
    CH
    That's very nice and cleared some things up for me! Thanks!
    Escpecially regarding the high-tier promotions, I don't get above tier 4 very often, let alone with light cav :D
     
  12. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    6,430
    I just give them all possible promotions to show that they have the ones you want. It's about clarity rather than distrust.
     
  13. Turrdy

    Turrdy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2016
    Messages:
    297
    Location:
    CH
    that's what I thought, too! btw. what happens after they hit tier 7? do they stop getting xp?
     
  14. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    6,430
  15. Codenaugh

    Codenaugh Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Does this mean a city could be under siege by as little as 2 warriors on opposite sides of a city?
     
  16. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    6,430
    As little as 2 scouts, yes
    Also remember the unit does not have to be adjacent to the city nor in sight of the city, just have a ZOC on each traversible tile next to the city
     

Share This Page