1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Zone Alarm Question

Discussion in 'Computer Talk' started by DrOrgaZmo, Jan 27, 2003.

  1. DrOrgaZmo

    DrOrgaZmo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario, Canada.
    I'm just wondering, does Zone Alarm affect in any way multiplayer gaming?

    Does it slow it down, disable some functions, block certain servers, etc.

    Thanks. I hope it doesn't. I always get attacked by "smurf" when I'm playing UT online. I mean er.. PTW.
     
  2. Jeratain

    Jeratain On the can.

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,694
    Location:
    SF, CA
    Nope. When you run a program that tries to access the net, it asks if you want to allow that program to have access or not. If you let it, then you should have no problems playing MP on any server. I've played while running ZA Pro these games: Counterstrike, JK II, Army Ops, Medal of Honor: Allied Assault, and others.
     
  3. DrOrgaZmo

    DrOrgaZmo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario, Canada.
    Okay thanks for the info.
    But does allowing the program access make that program vulnerable for hacking?

    And.. does Zone Alarm protect you fully if you have DMZ on your router firewall turned on?
     
  4. Jeratain

    Jeratain On the can.

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,694
    Location:
    SF, CA
    Allowing it access should not make your system any more vulnerable than it already was.

    And as far as I can tell - even with DMZ on your router turned on, you can are still fully protected. You might want to read the FAQ on their sites regarding the DMZ question to make sure. If you have a Linksys router, you can set it up to work with Zone Alarm.
     
  5. DrOrgaZmo

    DrOrgaZmo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario, Canada.
    Aaaarg Zone Alarm doesn't work!

    01/26/2003 23:11:24 User from 192.168.2.100 timed out
    01/26/2003 23:08:30 **smurf** 146.20.84.255, 7778->> 192.168.2.100, 3196 (from WAN)
    01/26/2003 23:08:29 **smurf** 146.20.84.255, 7778->> 192.168.2.100, 3196 (from WAN)
    01/26/2003 23:03:58 **smurf** 146.20.84.255, 7778->> 192.168.2.100, 3184 (from WAN)
    01/26/2003 22:58:59 192.168.2.100 login success
    01/26/2003 22:47:06 **smurf** 146.20.84.255, 7778->> 192.168.2.100, 2897 (from WAN)
    01/26/2003 22:47:04 **smurf** 146.20.84.255, 7778->> 192.168.2.100, 2897 (from WAN)
    01/26/2003 22:38:45 192.168.2.100 login success
    01/26/2003 22:22:27 NTP Date/Time updated
    01/26/2003 22:21:52 Begin to query NTP
    01/26/2003 22:11:06 **smurf** 24.57.109.0, 7778->> 192.168.2.100, 2481 (from WAN)
    01/26/2003 22:11:05 **smurf** 24.57.109.0, 7778->> 192.168.2.100, 2481 (from WAN)
    01/26/2003 22:10:26 192.168.2.100 login success
    01/26/2003 21:54:34 192.168.2.100 login success
    01/26/2003 21:46:35 192.168.2.100 login success
    01/26/2003 21:37:12 **smurf** 24.57.109.0->> 192.168.2.100, Type:3, Code:3 (from WAN)
    01/26/2003 21:37:10 **smurf** 24.57.109.0->> 192.168.2.100, Type:3, Code:3 (from WAN)

    This was while Zone Alarm was running and DMZ was turned off and I was playing UT2003. All of a sudden my ping jumped to 600 and guess what... damn smurf.
     
  6. Jeratain

    Jeratain On the can.

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,694
    Location:
    SF, CA

Share This Page