1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

ZoneAlarm & Internet Connection Sharing

Discussion in 'Computer Talk' started by ainwood, Aug 1, 2005.

  1. ainwood

    ainwood Consultant. Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,068
    ZoneAlarm 6.0 (the free version) is preventing my internet connection sharing from working.

    I've placed my network in the "trusted zone" (rather than the default 'internet zone'), and that's worked in terms of allowing file sharing etc. But the internet connection share isn't working.

    I prefer ZoneAlarm to the windows firewall, but if I want the internet on two PCs simulataneously, then I'm having to to turn-off zonealarm and switch to the windows firewall.

    Any suggestions? (I've even turned-off the firewall in the 'trusted zone' by setting the security level to 'low', but its still blocking it! :crazyeye: )
     
  2. vbraun

    vbraun Raytracing

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    3,530
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    I have no clue if this will work, but open port 80.
     
  3. Lozzy_Ozzy

    Lozzy_Ozzy Rapture

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,834
    Location:
    Northampton, England
    Well, you should try changing the firewall that (might) come in the router.

    Another thing, if you go to 'show all connections' then go to the properties of your network.

    From there go to the 'advanced' options and find the bit about sharing internet access from this PC.

    Make sure that is checked.

    I know that you have probably already done that, but it's worth a go.
     
  4. ainwood

    ainwood Consultant. Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,068
    Its a network hub, not a router - it doesn't have a hardware firewall.


    Yes - if I turn-off ZoneAlarm, then the internet connection sharing works fine - I turn-off zonealarm and turn on the windows firewall, and it works.
     
  5. Lozzy_Ozzy

    Lozzy_Ozzy Rapture

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,834
    Location:
    Northampton, England
    Hmmmmm...

    Well if everytinh is set to allow on Zonealarm I can think of nothing else...

    Except I have had this problem with a program and ZoneAlarm...
     
  6. Dabomb18359

    Dabomb18359 Link Has Become A Jedi

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,024
    Location:
    8:00-6:00: School =D
    Are there any other free firewalls out there as good as Zone Alarm?
    This site has some links to firewalls. Are any of them any good besides ZoneAlarm?
     
  7. Lozzy_Ozzy

    Lozzy_Ozzy Rapture

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,834
    Location:
    Northampton, England
    I'm not that sure.

    But what's wrong with ZoneAlarm?

    It's probably the best free one I have found...
     
  8. stormbind

    stormbind Retenta personam!

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    14,081
    Location:
    London
    I have never had ZoneAlarm and ICS on the same computer (prefer built-in WinXP firewall or BlackICE), but I can confirm that there are no difficulties using ZoneAlarm on the other computers.

    Have you set ICS to be a trusted application?
     
  9. ainwood

    ainwood Consultant. Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,068
    ICS isn't actually a program, however it operates under a "Generics Windows Host Process" - that has been set as a trusted program.

    I am starting to think that zonealarm 6.0 might not work - might try zonealarm 5.
     
  10. stormbind

    stormbind Retenta personam!

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    14,081
    Location:
    London
    Storm's interpretation: Use WinXP firewall and save yourself a lot of hassle ;)

    This might be an intentional effort to force an upgrade because for the most part, there is no value in using Plus/Pro versions. Using an old version may help. There does not appear to be any change in the firewall technology across all versions - only a change in complimentary features.
     

Share This Page