Hearthstone!

civvver

Deity
I'm getting sucked into another blizzard game, arghghghhhhh, that's my stifled cry of agony as the blizzard vortex swallows me up.

I'm pretty new to it, only rank 24 and won maybe 10 games total. I haven't done my proper research. I started as a mage but all the paladins were wiping the floor with me (which actually I read mage counters paladin, go figure) so I switched to druid cus they're supposed to be mega op. At least a while ago, dunno now if they patched anything recently.

Paladin seems pretty good too, just the standard deck can be immensely strong.

What classes do you enjoy?

I struggle at building my deck, I think I do not use enough 2 and 3 mana minions. I only have like one 1 mana, a 2 and maybe 2 3s. I'm perhaps too reliant on major end game minions and buffs/spells. I fought a priest who had two shadow word death cards and pain cards and it was bad, every time I put out a huge minion he killed them in one yet. Or sometimes they get out a ton of early minions and beat me that way.

I also feel while there is some skill involved there is a ton of luck, like way more luck than skill. Like maybe a 75/25% ratio of luck to skill. Maybe I'm way off here. But if you get all the perfect cards to counter what the other guy has you will win period. I guess the skill part is making sure they're in your deck. But you don't know his deck ahead of time either. Matchups such a huge part.

Matchups have long been a huge part of any card game, that's just the nature of the beast. I played Hearthstone for a few weeks not too long after it came out but I gave up on it. As someone who played Magic the Gathering for years when I was younger Hearthstone was just too simplistic to grab my attention. Some of the interactions were interesting but overall there just wasn't enough complexity to keep me from being bored by it.