First Time Modding Question

Susemiehlian

Chieftain
As the title says, this is my first time attempting to make a mod. I've followed multiple guides on using ModBuddy, and it seems that I'm doing everything right (obviously I'm messing up somewhere) but my mod just isn't working.

I'm attempting to reduce the strength and cost of the musketman and its related unique units as well as allow the longswordman to upgrade into a rifleman instead of the musketman. I'm doing this because I downloaded a mod that allows pikemen to upgrade into musketman, which in my opinion fixes a glaring problem with the troop tree. However, with this pikeman to musketman mod alone, the necessity of iron is severely devalued in my opinion. With this tweak and the other mod, musketmen will become an alternative to longswordmen rather than a replacement, thus maintaining the value of iron in the mid-game as well as not rendering an army of spear/pikemen useless later in the game (when they upgrade from a strong front-line unit to specialty units which, in my opinion, have little use.)

Here is what I have done thus far for this mod (hopefully I'm not forgetting anything):
Made a new project in Mod Buddy, titled MusketmanTweak
Added folder titled XML and a new XML file titled Musketman.xml in the solution explorer
Added the following code:
Code:
<GameData>
	<Units>
		<Update>
			<Where Type="UNIT_MUSKETMAN" />
			<Set Combat="18"/>
			<Set Cost="105"/>
		</Update>
		<Update>
			<Where Type="UNIT_AMERICAN_MINUTEMAN"/>
			<Set Combat="18"/>
			<Set Cost="105"/>
		</Update>
		<Update>
			<Where Type="UNIT_FRENCH_MUSKETEER"/>
			<Set Combat="20"/>
			<Set Cost="105"/>
		</Update>
		<Update>
			<Where Type="UNIT_OTTOMAN_JANISSARY"/>
			<Set Combat="18"/>
			<Set Cost="105"/>
		</Update>
		<Update>
			<Where Type="UNIT_SPANISH_TERCIO"/>
			<Set Combat="19"/>
			<Set Cost="105"/>
		</Update>
	</Units>

<Unit_ClassUpgrades>
		<update>
		<row>
			<UnitType>UNIT_LONGSWORDMAN</UnitType>