Help with Byzantine cultural victory!

pandaninjarawr

Chieftain
Hello everyone. Im a complete noob at civilization and I'm trying to achieve a cultural victory with the byzantines (cause they're pretty cool). However everytime I'm playing (at king difficulty) either someone always grabs the wonder first or my tourism output keeps stagnating at 16 or most frustratingly barbarians keep screwing me over every single time! Is there a guide for the byzantines? I want to utilize both religion and culture but it always seems like I gotta give up good wonders for the other. Also, science and production are troubling me sometimes too. I guess I just dont have enough experience in the mechanics haha.

thanks guys!:king::goodjob::goodjob::cool:

We'll first off, a screenshot would help a lot, and knowing how far in the game you are. Depending on the era 16 tourism can be a lot. The only wonders I'd go for religion is Hagia Sofia, you don't really need religion wonders. Build a military to keep barbarians out. Start out with composite bowmen to defend your cities. Tourism doesn't take off until the late game. Start by getting lots of cultural buildings and wonders. Culture can be translated into tourism through hotels and airports. Make sure to have good improvements for food and production and stay in positive happiness.

There's two main Byzantine cultural victory paths:

One is the sacred sites gambit. With it being largely specific to Byzantine and much more difficult to apply to other civs, I'll mention that first.

This is Piety first. You'll want a faith pantheon. Ideally, you found a religion first, but being early will suffice.
When you found the religion select one with religious buildings as a follower and in addition select as your bonus belief an extra follower one that also provides religious buildings.