Basic Noble Story Time :D

digitCruncher

Emperor
Im not 100% sure that this is the right place, but...

I am planning on posting about 4 games over the course of the year, in order to get one of my new years resolution "Get back to Civ IV, and win a game on the level above noble. I think its called Prince. Oh, and do it with no help whatsoever.".

Anyway, that doesn't seem too bad. Except that in my 10 games I have played Noble, I have been above the 50% mark ONCE. So, I am a HUGE noob, and I have a long way to go to win in Prince.

Here is the game data:

Civ: HRE (Yay for the overpowered medieval UU)

Size: Huge

Map: Pangea

Difficulty: Noble

Speed: Epic

Gameplay changes: Not much. I plan to stop every 20 turns (maybe 30?) and give an update about whats happening. Every day without fail. However, I have made one tiny gameplay mod: Global Warming (which should actually be nuclear winter) produces TUNDRA, not DESERT, so you can build improvements on a nuclear wasteland (if they are riverside), and they also provide a tiny amount of food and commerce.

If there is anything I need to know, or any recommendations (for example, the number of turns between updates...) please tell me. I start tommorow, but the first 1 or 2 days will just be popping goody huts, and learning the lay of the land... so that gives us 3 days to discuss what I should do in this thread.

A few questions:

* Is 20 turns too short?
* Is this the right forum? There will be a tiny storyline, but I don't think (on the days that I am working) I will be able to make a good story. On the days I don't work, the story will be much richer (comparitively)
* Is this the easiest setting (I want an easy noble game, and work on to a hard noble game by June. My first Prince game will be in July, and I should get to get my resolution by then, if I stay on course)
* Do you guys need any more info?

A few things about my gameplay: