BTS and Medieval II Total War

Hoggle

Chieftain
To start things off, I'm new to these types of games. I actually picked up Civ4 when it first came out, but was put off from being completely lost...(sad I know). I recently reinstalled it, and I'm starting to grasp it, and am really enjoying the game...I wish I gave it more of a chance before. I also picked up Gal Civ2 and I'm starting to get into that as well.

With that said, I'm torn right now. I'm debating between picking up BTS, or Medieval II Total War. I realize that they are completely different games, but in some ways they look loosely similar. I realize this is a Civ forum, but I'm very impressed with the community here, and I'm just looking for some opinions from those that may have played both games.

Thanks in advance for any info or opinions, it is appreciated.

like u said thay are very difrent, but i whould go with rome total war gold pack, or total war:war chest. if ur put off by playing as rome, ect, then go for m2tw.
i whould get bts later on once u fully grasp civ 4..
a word of warning, u play on the map in turns, and battles in real time in total war. allso, units will route, turning and running from battle if thay are not well trained or battle hardend.

I never liked Rome TW, but the pack with Medieval and Shogun is really good. Those two are worth getting. I got both when they originally came out, but the pack is good because you can play Shogun on XP now, original doesn't run, or doesn't run without patch in a stable way.

I own both games :) . If I had to choose between the two, I would... die, I think. I cannot live without both of them.