Opinions on Tourism when not chasing a Cultural Victory

Ellye

Warlord
Being in South America, I only started playing BNW yesterday, so I'm still early in my first game with it.

Now, one thing that is bothering me a little bit, is the question of how useful Tourism is if you aren't specifically chasing a culture victory.

At first, Tourism looked like a completely binary "resource" for me - either you have enough to win the game, or you don't. But that would be a terrible mechanic. Thankfully, after reading a bit more on it, I noticed that it also gives penalties for other civilizations of different ideologies that are under your influence. If there's something else about it, I missed it.

But I ask for opinions of those that already played the end-game: how relevant is Tourism for civs that are not chasing a cultural victory?

If you don't have it, you're more or less a spectator in the ideological battles that define the end-game. To some extent you can protect yourself against adverse ideological effects just with culture, but if you aren't contributing to influencing other civs with your ideology you'll probably still be at the mercy of others', just to a lesser extent.

I develop it even if I'm going for say, Domination just to have another way to win if need be.

This question has popped up many times before but I think it is put on its head - because people are forgetting two things:

- almost every single thing that gives you tourism also gives you culture - so getting a great work of art from someone is useful even if you don't have much use for tourism for example - because you still get culture out of it,