Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center  

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Strategy & Tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Oct 31, 2005, 12:13 AM   #1
ÆnigmÆffect
Warlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 128
City Raider upgrade not working?

This is starting to bug me. So, I got some macemen, and go the city raider upgrade as well as the basic combat upgrade. I attack a city. The stats area shows that I have +20% for city attack, but the strength still shows as 8.8, which is the original strength +10%.

So, my question: What happened to the +20%? Or am I not reading this correctly?

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by ÆnigmÆffect; Oct 31, 2005 at 12:16 AM.
ÆnigmÆffect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2005, 12:15 AM   #2
yasic
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 14
Its not the strenth that shows who wins, its that chance of winning (I forget exactly waht its called)

Its a ratio of numbrs, a green and red one (green being you)

On a flat plains, your number would be your strenth. Say your strenth is 3, and you got a 20% improvement: When you go to attack, your strenth will still be 3, but that number should be 3.6
yasic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2005, 03:36 AM   #3
Way Cool Junior
Chieftain
 
Way Cool Junior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
If you have your attacking unit selected, click and hold the right mouse button over the unit you plan on attacking. A small box will pop up above your unit's stat box displaying the strengths of both units with all of their modifiers added in.

I think this is the only way of seeing unit strengths with promotion modifiers added in (never seen the number in a unit's stat box change).
Way Cool Junior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2005, 04:27 AM   #4
Lord Shadow
The Errant General
 
Lord Shadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 1,434
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Way Cool Junior
If you have your attacking unit selected, click and hold the right mouse button over the unit you plan on attacking. A small box will pop up above your unit's stat box displaying the strengths of both units with all of their modifiers added in.

I think this is the only way of seeing unit strengths with promotion modifiers added in (never seen the number in a unit's stat box change).
Nice find!
__________________
"Do not forget your great guns, which are the most respectable arguments of the rights of kings."
- Frederick the Great
Lord Shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2005, 12:48 PM   #5
ritterpa
Warlord
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 109
You can also click your unit, then hold alt and mouseover the enemy unit, in case you are afraid of releasing the right mouse button and accidentally going on a suicide mission.
ritterpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2005, 01:02 PM   #6
Rameau's Nephew
Bureaucrat
 
Rameau's Nephew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bethesda, MD
Posts: 262
One other way:

If you go into GoTo mode (press "g"), and mouse over the enemy, the odds will display.
Rameau's Nephew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2005, 01:18 PM   #7
Zhahz
PC Gamer
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,546
I've noticed the same thing and I think city raider is bugged too.

If you select a unit, hold down alt, and mouse over an adjacent enemy (or use whatever similar method for the same data) it'll show you your modified strength vs their modified strength to help you determine the odds.

I had a bunch of modern armor with different combos and my combat3 ones would show 52.0 while my cityraider3 would show 40.0 when hovering over city based enemies - and that seems wrong. Due to my stealth bombers doing massive quantities of collateral damage I always fought nicely weakened defenders, so it's hard to say whether the city raider was actually working. (Side note - a city with barracks + west point + pentagon that pumps out tanks with 3 promotions upon creation (without civics) is a happy place.)

My earlier swordsman with their built-in bonus did great against citied units so I'll have to make it a point to see how their bonus affects the "odds" popup.
Zhahz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2005, 01:22 PM   #8
Zhahz
PC Gamer
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by yasic
Its not the strenth that shows who wins, its that chance of winning (I forget exactly waht its called)

Its a ratio of numbrs, a green and red one (green being you)
I don't think that's correct. It's showing the modified strengths of each unit along with a summary of their bonuses, not the raw odds of winning.
Zhahz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Strategy & Tips > City Raider upgrade not working?

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why can't Gunpowder units take City Raider promotions? krille Civ4 - General Discussions 50 Sep 30, 2010 12:41 AM
Error in City Raider promotion? bippukt Civ4 - General Discussions 18 Feb 26, 2009 05:26 PM
No Gunpowder units have city raider? Illusion13 Civ4 - General Discussions 16 Feb 15, 2008 08:53 PM
City Raider Promotion aros Civ4 - General Discussions 1 Aug 13, 2006 05:03 AM
Combat 1,barrage 1, city raider 1 vs city garrison 1 mortichro Civ4 - Strategy & Tips 9 Nov 19, 2005 02:11 PM


Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright © Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR