Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Multiplayer & PBEM > Civ4 - PitBoss Games

Notices

Civ4 - PitBoss Games Forum for Civ4 PitBoss games and related issues.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Jan 05, 2006, 07:19 PM   #1
Thunderfall
Administrator

 
Thunderfall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 11,772
Civ4 PitBoss Available

The persistent turn-based server program for Civilization IV, also known as PitBoss, is now available for download. Here is a description of PitBoss from the Info Center:

The Pit Boss persistent turn-based server will allow for players to play as long as they like and leave when they like without disrupting the game. Players can also fill in for AI players and join when they like (so it is possible to jump in right in the middle of a game and take an AI's role). The server will download the current game state, then a player takes their turn and the server afterwards saves for the next player. It is like playing a streamlined version of play by e-mail or hot seat multiplayer.

To run a PitBoss server, download the file, extract the PitBoss.exe to your main Civ4 directory, then run it. You will be asked to supply a SMTP email login, select type of the game (DirectIP, LAN, or Internet), choose the game options, etc. Note that you need to have the v1.61 patch installed for it to work.

DOWNLOAD LINKS:
Download PitBoss Application (3.56 MB) from: 2K Games | 3D Downloads

Here are a few screenshots showing the setup process:

Screen#1 Screen#2 Screen#3 Screen#4 Screen#5.

Give it a try and post your experience here.

EDIT: PitBoss officially released on April 13, 2006.
__________________
Thunderfall
Weight: 1.0
Value: 161
Cast When used
Shock Damage 1 to 25 points on Touch

Last edited by Thunderfall; Jul 24, 2006 at 10:39 PM.
Thunderfall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2006, 07:57 PM   #2
UglyElmo
Warlord
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 103
I will be more than happy to try it out tonight when I get home from work.

This is the feature I was most interested in, since it will allow us to make our moves without having to use the email system.

I may have a few questions after using it, so will someone be available here to answer questions or is this just a Review thread?

Thanks for the info.
UglyElmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2006, 08:37 PM   #3
Exavier
Destroyer of Worlds
 
Exavier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Posts: 906
Just downloaded it and running it.

Will let you know if i find any problems. One thing i do notice though is that it looks like you have to create new random game or load an existing game but there is no Scenario Option. (I had to start my scenario regular way then load it as a save game to play on it)

Also not I am running mine with a Modded version of Civ4 (only games i have current MP saves of where with my mod). I am also using a Direct IP connection test... Will let you know
Exavier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2006, 08:44 PM   #4
CornMaster
Romulan Commander
 
CornMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Cloaked Warbird in the Neutral Zone
Posts: 3,751
I downloaded it and ran it....
It opens a command prompt, but nothing happens.

I'll assume it's because I'm still running 1.09. Waiting for the next patch.
__________________
I AM CANADIAN!
CornMaster's Civ 3 Borders
CornEmpire Software
CornMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2006, 09:14 PM   #5
playshogi
Emperor
 
playshogi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,159
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderfall
. You will be asked to supply a SMTP email loging, select type of the game (DirectIP, LAN, or Internet), choose the game options, etc.
What is a SMTP email logging?

What is the difference between DirectIP and Internet?

How do I take over an AI in a game already in progress?
How do I find out the options selected in a game already in progress?
(I wouldn't want to join Huge map, with 1 human and 17 AI.)
playshogi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2006, 09:18 PM   #6
CanuckSoldier
Emperor
 
CanuckSoldier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,593
Yes this Pitboss is only compatable with 1.52, why would you be still running 1.09? 1.52 is only really a issue in the GS MP lobby, I've heard only a couple people with issues with SP games.

CS
__________________
Global Admin/Owner/Operator Civilization Players League
www.civplayers.com The oldest International MP League, since Dec 1st, 2002
http://steamcommunity.com/groups/civplayers
As our Founder, WarningU2 stated, "My main objective you have to remember was just to play a game to its conclusion and while doing so, to have fun"
Civplayers Steam Chat steam://friends/joinchat/103582791431089902
CanuckSoldier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2006, 09:34 PM   #7
CanuckSoldier
Emperor
 
CanuckSoldier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by playshogi
What is a SMTP email logging?

What is the difference between DirectIP and Internet?

How do I take over an AI in a game already in progress?
How do I find out the options selected in a game already in progress?
(I wouldn't want to join Huge map, with 1 human and 17 AI.)
SMTP is Simple Mail Transport Protocal, pitboss would need to know your mail servers address to send notification emails to the players, although this is not a current function in 1.52.

Internet games display in the "PB" column in the MP lobby, DirectIP game do not and you have to tell people your IP so they can join. However, because GS periodically reset the lobby, it's best to give people your IP even if it is a "internet" game as they often will not be able to see it in the lobby if GS drops it.

CS
__________________
Global Admin/Owner/Operator Civilization Players League
www.civplayers.com The oldest International MP League, since Dec 1st, 2002
http://steamcommunity.com/groups/civplayers
As our Founder, WarningU2 stated, "My main objective you have to remember was just to play a game to its conclusion and while doing so, to have fun"
Civplayers Steam Chat steam://friends/joinchat/103582791431089902
CanuckSoldier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2006, 09:35 PM   #8
Mr. Pointless
Chieftain
 
Mr. Pointless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 23
I have this error message when I tried to run Pitboss. I tried reinstalling but that didn't work

It said

This application has failed to start because boost_python-vc71-mt-1_32.dll was not found.
Mr. Pointless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2006, 09:38 PM   #9
Great_Scott
aka Cottus Arci
 
Great_Scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 404
As you might be aware, I'm setting up the PBEM Enhanced game for Civ4. I was counting on PTBS to be released... so this is a godsend. A few questions in regards to this... as I'm at work, and I won't be home or free to jump on the computer until tomorrow morning...

1. With PBEM, if there are 4 players, all human... do the players need to play in order?

2. I saw 'allow x hours for turn'... so the game will rollover to the next turn automatically after x hours... what if one doesn't log in... does AI play your turn?

3. Is there a limit on the amount of hours you can allow for a turn?
Great_Scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2006, 09:55 PM   #10
Exavier
Destroyer of Worlds
 
Exavier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Posts: 906
1) yes they have to play in order and remember to hit the End Turn Button.
2) I'd like to know too
3) same as 2 :P
Exavier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2006, 09:57 PM   #11
CanuckSoldier
Emperor
 
CanuckSoldier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by Great_Scott
As you might be aware, I'm setting up the PBEM Enhanced game for Civ4. I was counting on PTBS to be released... so this is a godsend. A few questions in regards to this... as I'm at work, and I won't be home or free to jump on the computer until tomorrow morning...

1. With PBEM, if there are 4 players, all human... do the players need to play in order?

2. I saw 'allow x hours for turn'... so the game will rollover to the next turn automatically after x hours... what if one doesn't log in... does AI play your turn?

3. Is there a limit on the amount of hours you can allow for a turn?
1. Since I've always checked "simutaneous turns" I'm not sure how Pitboss handles sequential turn games....feel free to test this, if you haven't figured out Beta release=you are beta testers

2. Yes Pitboss handles turns just like a normal MP game, if you don't play your civ in the time allotted then it will roll over and your research and production will continue your units won't move anywere and if you don't have tech and production queued it will just stall.

3. I believe the field for that allows 1-999 hours, if you don't enter a value that is no turn limit and the game turns won't progress until everyone has played there turn as in a no turn limit MP game.

CS
__________________
Global Admin/Owner/Operator Civilization Players League
www.civplayers.com The oldest International MP League, since Dec 1st, 2002
http://steamcommunity.com/groups/civplayers
As our Founder, WarningU2 stated, "My main objective you have to remember was just to play a game to its conclusion and while doing so, to have fun"
Civplayers Steam Chat steam://friends/joinchat/103582791431089902
CanuckSoldier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2006, 10:02 PM   #12
CanuckSoldier
Emperor
 
CanuckSoldier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by Exavier
1) yes they have to play in order and remember to hit the End Turn Button.
2) I'd like to know too
3) same as 2 :P
Well if you are right about that the I would never play sequential turn pitboss as it would totally defeat the best reason to use pitboss, the abilility to login anytime and play your turn and manage your civ.

CS
__________________
Global Admin/Owner/Operator Civilization Players League
www.civplayers.com The oldest International MP League, since Dec 1st, 2002
http://steamcommunity.com/groups/civplayers
As our Founder, WarningU2 stated, "My main objective you have to remember was just to play a game to its conclusion and while doing so, to have fun"
Civplayers Steam Chat steam://friends/joinchat/103582791431089902
CanuckSoldier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2006, 10:07 PM   #13
Oni
Machiavelli
 
Oni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: US
Posts: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Pointless
I have this error message when I tried to run Pitboss. I tried reinstalling but that didn't work

It said

This application has failed to start because boost_python-vc71-mt-1_32.dll was not found.

I too got that.. I think you mean it happend durring the instalation of Pitboss though.

Exactly it said
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pitboss.exe- unable to locate component
This application has failed to start because boost_python-vc71-mt-1_32.dll was not found. Re-installing the application may fix this problem.
Oni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2006, 10:24 PM   #14
Chukker
Chieftain
 
Chukker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1
the missing dll error is because you are not running PitBoss out the same directory where Civilization4.exe is located. Move PitBoss.exe there and it will work.
Chukker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2006, 10:39 PM   #15
Frakin
Chieftain
 
Frakin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Where it's raining
Posts: 13
This would be my first multiplayer game as Gamespy has not worked for my computer so far, so forgive me for not having a clue how to work the interface, but what do you have to do to join a game? Does it play as a standard DirectIP game , and Would that mean you would have to know the IP address of the host to join the game?

Maybe if the internet games are not working (it asked for a login when I tried to access it, I don't know if it's GS or not) there could be a thread with games and the IP addressess of hosts who wanted to make games. That way it would be easy to be able to find games that are current without trying to log on to GAmespy
Frakin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2006, 10:47 PM   #16
Mr. Pointless
Chieftain
 
Mr. Pointless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chukker
the missing dll error is because you are not running PitBoss out the same directory where Civilization4.exe is located. Move PitBoss.exe there and it will work.

Thanks for answering
Mr. Pointless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2006, 10:51 PM   #17
CanuckSoldier
Emperor
 
CanuckSoldier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frakin
This would be my first multiplayer game as Gamespy has not worked for my computer so far, so forgive me for not having a clue how to work the interface, but what do you have to do to join a game? Does it play as a standard DirectIP game , and Would that mean you would have to know the IP address of the host to join the game?

Maybe if the internet games are not working (it asked for a login when I tried to access it, I don't know if it's GS or not) there could be a thread with games and the IP addressess of hosts who wanted to make games. That way it would be easy to be able to find games that are current without trying to log on to GAmespy
Yes to create a internet pitboss game you must first have created an account via the normal Civ4 MP->Internet Games->Create New Account.

To join a game you can either look for interent "PB" games in the lobby or hook up with a DirectIP Pitboss game via your forum of choice.

CS
__________________
Global Admin/Owner/Operator Civilization Players League
www.civplayers.com The oldest International MP League, since Dec 1st, 2002
http://steamcommunity.com/groups/civplayers
As our Founder, WarningU2 stated, "My main objective you have to remember was just to play a game to its conclusion and while doing so, to have fun"
Civplayers Steam Chat steam://friends/joinchat/103582791431089902
CanuckSoldier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2006, 11:36 PM   #18
vbraun
Raytracing
 
vbraun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 3,530
Your quick CS.

Played a game with a couple others tonight via DirectIP. It was quite fun. It probably would of been better played regualry then through Pitboss, but it still worked. I had a few issues (one connection problem and an OSS) and found one bug. I will report them accordingly.
__________________
Think you're a good musician? This piece will be sure to kick your butt.

Civ4Wiki is the (soon to be) best location for all Civ4 info!
Civ3 stuff: Units (5), Tech Icons (24)
vbraun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2006, 11:52 PM   #19
tals
Warlord
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 190
Great news - i'm hoping to run this on a small pc I have that acts as a server. Just depends how easy it proves to install.

If any Firaxians are listening - is their a 'minimal' install which just copies relevant files (for a pure pitboss server) to install or will it always need this full install i.e full civ iv install + pitboss exe.

Tals
tals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2006, 02:30 AM   #20
croxis
Chat room op
 
croxis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Portland, OR, US
Posts: 3,283
Any hope of a linux port? (or could it even run in WINE?)
__________________
- David, Proud to be saving the world since 1984
Economic Left/Right: -8.00 Social Libertarian/Authortarian: -8.72
Official #civfanatics chatroom - where we chat about anything but!
CivFanatics Minecraft Server!
croxis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Multiplayer & PBEM > Civ4 - PitBoss Games > Civ4 PitBoss Available

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR