Rik's GalCiv2 review

Rik Meleet

Top predator
Retired Moderator
As a complete noob on Moo2, Galactic civilizations or any otherwise related game, Thunderfall kindly offered me the chance to get hold of review copy. Nice - especially since its not due for release in Europe for a few weeks yet.

Part One

The CD-box reads:

The year is 2225. The reckless Humans have joined the other galactic powers in a race for control and domination of the galaxy. The evil Drengin Empire has plans to wipe out Humanity and their allies, but as they will all discover, there is something far worse in the universe than each other...

Lead your favorite race in a struggle to dominate the galaxy in Galactic Civilizations II, a 4X strategy game where you use whatever means nexeccary - technological advancement, economic might, cultural expansion and military prowess - to survive the epic interstellar war.

Sounds promissing. It seems I am a human and at war with the Drengins and apparently our friendly deathmatch is about to be disturbed by some (2?) others. Sounds good.

I start by reading the manual. No really - I'll start by reading the manual.

The Manual v 1.0
It seems I can choose to be any of 10 civilizations. Ah, ok more choice than the presumed 4. I learn that getting the best planets will be important. The manual continues with explaining the difference between GalCiv and GalCiv2. Since I don't know GalCiv I skip that. It then states the system requirements. Oddly, this is not on the CD-box. Perhaps it will be on the retailversion, I don't know - I just would have expected it to be on the CD-box. Anyway, my system meets the minimum requirements so I should be able to play it later on.
The manual continues with "installing the game" - "getting updates" and the other usual things. Good to know where you can find it, but I'll skip it till either I'm installing the game or never.

Chapter 2: the basics.