Some Unit Lines, Yay!

WildWeazel

Carthago Creanda Est
These are some unit lines I've come up with for a theoretical generic mod* that I've been pondering for about 4 years now. You may, but probably don't, remember some previous threads on this nebulous project. The thing is now in its third incarnation, at least in my mind, so I'm making it as concrete as possible before I wander away from it again.

Anyway, I'd like some feedback from the community once again. I'm trying to establish solid and varied unit lines without making them too complicated or numerous. The primary goal of this mod is to enrich and expand gameplay without complicating it. The player should have a handful of units available at any point in time, each with a specific strength.

The chart is fairly simple: Units are placed according to timeframe (row) and purpose (column). The listed eras loosely correspond to half a tech era. Units upgrade to the units below them, unless marked with a "do not enter" symbol and/or arrows. The exception is the "Other" column, which includes various units as accurately as I could fit them into the chronology.

A brief explanation of a few lines:
-Heavy Defense is your standard city defender, but note that I'm using archer units for defense, a la Rhye's mod.
-Support is well-rounded infantry, cheaper but less powerful than Offense.
-Light Cavalry is faster but less powerful than Heavy Cavalry.
-Mobile is fast defenders, not replacing Light Cavalry except in speed.

The units shown are intentionally European in appearance. I'll probably attempt culture-specific flavor graphics at some point. I'm more concerned with chronological correctness than style for now. Most Firaxis units will be replaced with custom equivalents.

Without further ado, the chart:

Here are some things in particular that I'm not sure about:
-Ancient units. I like the spearman, not sure about the others.
-Classical units. This is a great group of units, but is this too early for them?