G-III Delta Dog

Tone

Deity
Hall of Fame Staff
Having seen some great launch dates in 'Charlie' and a stunning victory from Chamnix, I wonder if we'll see the bar raised for this gauntlet. I do hope so...

The settings are

* Mapsize: Standard
* Difficulty: Monarch
* Condition: 100K

Good luck to all participants. Games due in by 15th August 2008.

I've never really seen eye-to-eye with the Feudalism style 100k, but I'll have a go; Celts first I think.
I'm going to assume that 5cc is beyond my ability and would fail to get on the table.

I'll give this one a go, I need to expand my horizons beyond science if I ever want to become a quartermaster.

I have never done a 100k game before so is there any recommended reading for this type of game?

As for mapfinder settings, I would assume grassland cows + river is good, 60% pangea, wet and warm for the high food.

I prefer warm dry pangea, 5 bil, with 60% water, minimum opponents usually all scientific that don't start with alphabet. I use Celts exclusively. To get a good date there is no other way than to get 2 ancient SGLs, (at least not for me.)
It might surprize some I prefer dry (arid) because grassland is better, but I rather deal with irrigating deserts than chopping jungles, it's that simple. Being agricultural makes the difference there, of course, if I were to try Babylon for example I wouldn't like the deserts so much. Because dispite real life examples the desert is just as easy to road and walk across as plains where jungle can really slow your expansion (which really needs to be your total main focus in the first half) and then that irrigating takes 4 worker turns where as a jungle will yeild to a grassland it needs 16 (or is it 24) worker turns to clear not to mention it won't have a road because of the 9 worker turns for that.