Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center  

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Creation & Customization

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Jul 29, 2008, 06:11 PM   #1
Gunny_highway
Chieftain
 
Gunny_highway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 14
Cool The American Revolution Mod

My question here is, is there a map for this mod? i have tried to play this several times and the only map i get is WBquicksave map with no cities and only one unit. Plus i have seen mention of a ww2 mod which i dont seem to have. I have tried reinstalling the game twice now and still have the same trouble. Please help if you can! Thanx

Gunny


Ok just went into Civ4 (not Warlords) and the only mod that loads a map is the greek world mod, if anyone has any info that can help please post i am at a complete loss on what to do!

Thanks Again!

Last edited by Gunny_highway; Jul 29, 2008 at 07:04 PM. Reason: more to say
Gunny_highway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2008, 07:57 PM   #2
Ginger_Ale
Lurker


 
Ginger_Ale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Red Sox Nation
Posts: 8,802
Moderator Action: Moved to the Creation and Customization forum.

You should be able to load it by selecting Single Player -> Play a Scenario (because yes, there is a map for it). Is this how you're doing it? Welcome to CFC too!
Ginger_Ale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2008, 08:04 PM   #3
Gunny_highway
Chieftain
 
Gunny_highway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ginger_Ale View Post
Moderator Action: Moved to the Creation and Customization forum.

You should be able to load it by selecting Single Player -> Play a Scenario (because yes, there is a map for it). Is this how you're doing it? Welcome to CFC too!
That is how i have been trying to play it yes, but when i get in the menu play now and custom games are greyed out and cannot be selected and starting a scenario only gets me the above mentioned WBquicksave map with one unit and no cities.

i was looking thru older posts and finally found someone else with same problem but there wasnt a response, i had done a search before i posted but didnt find anything, sorry you had to move my post.

Thanks for the Welcome!

Last edited by Gunny_highway; Jul 29, 2008 at 08:06 PM. Reason: forgot something
Gunny_highway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2008, 01:08 AM   #4
primordial stew
Emperor
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: a puddle
Posts: 1,215
Did you load the American Revolution mod? Typically it's:
1) start civIV
2) advanced -> load a mod (select American Revolution)
3) <game restarts>
4) single player -> play a scenario


Another way is to find the file (PublicMaps\American Revolution.Civ4WorldBuilderSave) and double-click on it.


Yet another way, and probably the simplest, is to download one of the "mod chooser" utilities (eg Civilization IV Mod Chooser) and use that. Look in here: http://forums.civfanatics.com/downlo...p?do=cat&id=10
primordial stew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2008, 10:06 AM   #5
Gunny_highway
Chieftain
 
Gunny_highway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 14
Of the three Mods that come with Civ4 Greek world is the only map i could find in that folder, along with the world type maps but no mod maps except for greek world, would someone be able to post the maps for desert war and American Revolution?

Also yes i know how to load the mods the maps just seem to be missing!

Last edited by Gunny_highway; Jul 30, 2008 at 10:08 AM. Reason: forgot info
Gunny_highway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2008, 01:08 PM   #6
Shiggs713
Immortal
 
Shiggs713's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 2,320
the map for American Revolution is not in the mod folder, nor in your save directory. It should be in C:\...\Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4\PublicMaps. If its not then your copy of civ4 is messed up or has been altered.

Try the attachment, if that doesn't work then you'll have to;

Uninstall, Reinstall, then get most recent patch, and try again.

Shiggs
Attached Files
File Type: rar PublicMaps.rar (17.6 KB, 672 views)
__________________
"Know thy self, know thy enemy. A thousand battles, a thousand victories. " - Sun Tzu
Shiggs Earth - A ciV map and mod
CivEarth.com - a fanatics site for multi-player Earth Scenario's for cIV & ciV

Last edited by Shiggs713; Jul 30, 2008 at 01:12 PM.
Shiggs713 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2008, 06:05 PM   #7
Gunny_highway
Chieftain
 
Gunny_highway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 14
i looked in public maps folder but like i said only mod map in there is greek world. i got the rar file you post Shiggs Thanks very much for that!!!

I have Civ4 gold and i have reinstalled this game 4 times now, yes i made sure all folders where wiped and reg cleaned, but each and everytime those maps seem to not get installed, greek world plays fine and so do all the Warlords Mods its just been those two that i havent been able to play.

So anyways Thanks for the Files Shiggs! Hope i can repay you someday!
Going to go try them now so wish me luck! lol.

Gunny
Gunny_highway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2008, 06:28 PM   #8
deanej
Deity
 
deanej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New York State
Posts: 4,859
You can also go to "Play a Scenario" with no mod loaded a select American Revolution there. Did you try that?
deanej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2008, 12:16 PM   #9
Gunny_highway
Chieftain
 
Gunny_highway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 14
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by deanej View Post
You can also go to "Play a Scenario" with no mod loaded a select American Revolution there. Did you try that?
I did thanks! The problem was the maps arent being installed, but thanks to Shiggs i DL'd the rar file he posted and have now played both mods (american Rev/Desert War) and i have to say i am kinda let down by both mods, British troops in the Revolution mod seemed a tad over powered, and all allied troops in Desert War where way over powered. I wasnt expecting a perfect recreation but man both mods seemed to miss the mark by 50 miles! lol!

Anyways problem solved thnx to Shiggs! Thank you to all who tried helping, i am grateful you are great thanks again!

Gunny
Gunny_highway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2008, 09:41 PM   #10
primordial stew
Emperor
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: a puddle
Posts: 1,215
I hear that! Wait till you try the Rise of Rome mod in Warlords

I'm pretty sure the main point of these is just to show modders what can be done with the game.
primordial stew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2008, 09:55 PM   #11
deanej
Deity
 
deanej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New York State
Posts: 4,859
Actually, the readme for American Revolution explicitly states that it was only made as a proof-of-concept scenario.
deanej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 03, 2008, 08:26 AM   #12
Fistleaf
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 84
No, Civ4 Complete is also missing these 2 maps although all the other expansion pack scenario maps are there.
Somebody must have omitted the files when putting together Civ4 vanilla with the expansion packs.
Fistleaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2009, 11:16 AM   #13
KleineHenkie
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 12
Thumbs up Thank you Shiggs713

With this post I want to thank Shiggs713 for uploading the files.

I experienced the same problem as Gunny_Highway.

I bought Civ4 Complete in the Netherlands, patched it manually to 3.19 and than it was impossible to play Desert War and American Revolution. (It also was impossible before the patch) I reļnstalled the game and the patch, but still the same problem.

By copying the 2 files from Shiggs713 to the publicmaps map, the problem was solved!

Thanks Shiggs713!
KleineHenkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 07, 2010, 05:39 PM   #14
SeekTruthFromFacts
Prince
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 427
I had the same problem trying to play 'Desert War' on CIV Complete... and here was the answer. Thank you very much, Shiggs713.
SeekTruthFromFacts is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Creation & Customization > The American Revolution Mod

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
American Revolution Mod for Colonization Crbarber22695 Civ4Col - Creation & Customization 16 Oct 11, 2008 12:13 PM
Compare and Contrast Volume One: American Civil War and American Revolution Archer 007 World History 16 Jun 26, 2008 01:26 PM
American Mod - American Revolution Scenario ends early. Quellan Civ4 - Bug Reports 0 Nov 29, 2005 07:44 PM
American Revolution Mod KniteFlux Civ4 - Bug Reports 1 Nov 16, 2005 04:31 AM
larger american revolution mod evirus Civ4 - Creation & Customization 0 Oct 30, 2005 03:44 PM


Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright © Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR