Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center  

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Creation & Customization > Civ4 - Project & Mod Development > Civ4 - Revolution Modpack

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Nov 07, 2008, 09:57 PM   #1
Duneflower
Warlord
 
Duneflower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: SW Utah
Posts: 289
Yet Another Merger

NextWar Tritium is live!

Current version: .975

Major Components
Pre-RevDCM/3.17 version: .9
Attached Files
File Type: 7z NwT-torrent.7z (13.8 KB, 106 views)

Last edited by Duneflower; Nov 08, 2012 at 06:17 PM. Reason: New version!
Duneflower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 07, 2008, 11:17 PM   #2
jdog5000
Revolutionary
 
jdog5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: California
Posts: 2,596
Cool!

Post a link when you're happy with how it's working and have uploaded it and I'll add it to the mod list to get you some more downloads.
jdog5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 07, 2008, 11:24 PM   #3
Duneflower
Warlord
 
Duneflower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: SW Utah
Posts: 289
Errrrrr...I don't have anywhere to upload it. c.c; And I really don't wanna sign up for anything right now; is there some easy way to do it here? Never done it before...

O, another note: I'll prolly end up updating the thing a coupla times with edits; I've embellished (and in some cases authenticized) leader-names, and eventually intend on doing the same to city- and culture-names, along with putting cities in historical order of founding. I've also given the Next War leaders unique trait-pairs (hmmmm, there just happened to be four unused pairs...), and eventually plan on further differentiating them from the leaders/cultures they were cloned from by giving them actual UUs and UBs, most likely pulled from the Next War content itself. I also plan on eventually merging it with CIV Gold, so I gave it a derivative name: NextWar Tritium. Thoughts?

In related news, I've decided to start a major project that'll include Rev; read about it here!

Last edited by Duneflower; Nov 08, 2008 at 11:24 AM. Reason: Shameless self-promotion!
Duneflower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 08, 2008, 03:33 PM   #4
Refar
Deity
 
Refar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4,608
You can upload to the database up to 10 MB i think.
Otherwise there are free hosters like Rapidshare or something.
__________________
The graphics in the game doesn't necessarily show you what's going on. Its just the way they've been animated.
So if you ever see any Heavy Bolter squads standing on a slope firing into the air or the ground, you may rest assured they are in fact blasting the enemy.
--------------- From a Dawn of War review.
Refar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 08, 2008, 06:05 PM   #5
jdog5000
Revolutionary
 
jdog5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: California
Posts: 2,596
Yeah, you should be able to load it here on CFC ... you should see an Add File link near the top of the download database.

Your projects sound cool and ambitious! Modding takes a lot of time but is great fun.
jdog5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2008, 01:46 PM   #6
Duneflower
Warlord
 
Duneflower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: SW Utah
Posts: 289
Okay, I'm getting peeved...I did everything by the book - including copying over the interface art, which you forgot in your merger instructions, jdog - and got it working completely. Then, for no reason I could figure, it just stopped working - or rather, the mechanics still appear to work, but none of the main-interface mods are showing: No revwatch button, no "This is what's running and what's not" at the beginning of the game, and possibly a few other things. Any ideas?
Duneflower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2008, 06:50 PM   #7
jdog5000
Revolutionary
 
jdog5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: California
Posts: 2,596
Sorry about forgetting the art, I'll add that to the instructions.

What you're seeing means there's a Python error, all the missing features are controlled from Python. Do you have hide Python errors turned off in your CivilizationIV.ini file? It's in the My Games/.../BTS folder.
jdog5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2008, 05:07 AM   #8
Duneflower
Warlord
 
Duneflower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: SW Utah
Posts: 289
Okay, turned the Python reporting on and got these errors, in the reverse-chronological order presented by the game:
  • CvEventInterface, line 30, in onEvent
  • CvCustomEventManager, line 143, in handleEvent
  • " line 154, in _handleDefaultEvent
  • RevolutionInit, line 88, in onGameStart
  • " line 140, in onGameLoad
  • BarbarianCiv, line 96, in __init__
  • SdToolKitCustom, line 292, in sdObjectExists
  • AttributeError: 'list' object has no attribute 'has_key'

Glancing through the files in question, I feel like I'm on the verge of a solution but I'm not quite seeing it...

Edit: And in Notepad, some of those files look...messy.
Duneflower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2008, 11:28 PM   #9
jdog5000
Revolutionary
 
jdog5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: California
Posts: 2,596
Sorry to take so long to reply ...

I highly recommend a syntax knowledgeable editor like Notepad++, you will also want to set it so it shows what's a space and what's a tab since indentation matters in Python.

Now, for the error: my guess is one of the mods you're merging in isn't using the SdToolKit method for storing Python data in save games. The SdToolKit method makes life easy for mergers ... otherwise it can be hell. In a Python file somewhere there's a call to setScriptData on CyGame() which is directly writing a list to the script data instead of going through the SdToolKit. Search through the other Python files for setScriptData and you should find the culprit.

If you're up for it, you can then convert all of that file's setScriptData and getScriptData to the SdToolKit method ... or you can drop the file from the merge temporarily to see if that's the only problem.

Hope that helps.
jdog5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2008, 04:02 AM   #10
Duneflower
Warlord
 
Duneflower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: SW Utah
Posts: 289
Hm, the offender appears to be CvEventManager, and except for a couple of commands checking for whether you're playing the scenario or the mod so it knows whether or not to print the backstory, all of the get/setScriptData instances involve the possible EVERYBODY F#&$ING LOSES, MORONS!!! ending when too many nukes get thrown around, specifically the NumNukes variable and related things. I don't mind doing the conversion, but I'll need some instruction...

Last edited by Duneflower; Nov 20, 2008 at 08:38 PM.
Duneflower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2008, 11:15 AM   #11
jdog5000
Revolutionary
 
jdog5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: California
Posts: 2,596
All these snippets are from BarbarianCiv.py. First you'll need to import the tool kit:

Code:
import SdToolKitCustom as SDTK
Then you need to initialize the dictionary of variables for this particular component. Here's what BarbarianCiv does:

Code:
        if( not SDTK.sdObjectExists( "BarbarianCiv", game ) ) :
            SDTK.sdObjectInit( "BarbarianCiv", game, {} )
            SDTK.sdObjectSetVal( "BarbarianCiv", game, "AlwaysMinorList", [] )
        elif( SDTK.sdObjectGetVal( "BarbarianCiv", game, "AlwaysMinorList" ) == None ) :
            SDTK.sdObjectSetVal( "BarbarianCiv", game, "AlwaysMinorList", [] )
First it checks whether there's a "BarbarianCiv" entry in the SdToolKit table of saved mod data, if not it creates it. A {} in Python is an empty "dictionary" or look up table, you can also use dict(). I then add a variable to the "BarbarianCiv" collection of data if it doesn't already exist called "AlwaysMinorList" and give it an initial value of an empty list [], could also use list().

This handles setting up the contained for the variable, to get/set the variable later you can do something like:

Code:
        alwaysMinorList = SDTK.sdObjectGetVal( "BarbarianCiv", game, "AlwaysMinorList" )
        alwaysMinorList.extend( RevDefs.alwaysMinorList )
        SDTK.sdObjectSetVal( "BarbarianCiv", game, "AlwaysMinorList", alwaysMinorList )
Hope that helps.
jdog5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2008, 12:46 PM   #12
jdog5000
Revolutionary
 
jdog5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: California
Posts: 2,596
For the NextWar CvEventManager, I think the only things you need to worry about are the calls to gc.getGame().get and setScriptData. Local and global variables in CvEventManager shouldn't be a problem, just the information on the number of nukes fired which is stored using script data.

I haven't tried this file yet, just made the necessary changes, all marked with "jdog5000"
CvEventManager.zip

There is also one other strange thing that NextWar is doing using script data ... there are several lines like:

Code:
if (CyMap().plot(0,0).getScriptData() == "Scenario"):
Most likely this is not a problem, it certainly won't interfere with Revolution as i don't mess with script data for plots.

These lines could also simply be replaced with

if( True ) :

if you always want the backstory and potential for the world to crack, etc (use False if you don't).
jdog5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2008, 11:18 PM   #13
Duneflower
Warlord
 
Duneflower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: SW Utah
Posts: 289
I didn't think the nuke loss was dependent on whether you were running the scenario or not. I also thought you could send stuff via PM.

But regardless, it appears that you rule. So now, I believe I can declare NextWar Tritium officially completed! Which means it's time to start compiling Diamond.

*sigh* Okay, looks like CF's attachment system hates all over Firefox, so let's see what else I can come up with...

Edit: Uploaded to GameFlood, complete with revolter codes for the Next War civs!

So, with Phase I of NWT/CIV Diamond complete, here's my to-do list:
  1. Add CIV Gold civs and revolter code
  2. Come up with and and implement a few breakaways from the Next War civs. A few possible ideas for this:
    • Kingdom of the Isles (Britain/Ireland)
    • South Pacific Commonwealth (Aus/NZ, possibly Indonesia et al)
    • The Titanium Horde (Mongol empire under the Great Khans, possibly Russia)
    • Iberia
    • Empire of the Rising Sun (resurgent Japan conquering southeast Asia)
    • Nile Hegemony (Classical Egypt and then some!)
Feel free to contribute revolter ideas. Hum, maybe this should be moved out of the Rev subforum at this point?

Last edited by Duneflower; Nov 26, 2008 at 06:16 AM.
Duneflower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2008, 09:05 PM   #14
QwertyKey
Warlord
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duneflower View Post
I didn't think the nuke loss was dependent on whether you were running the scenario or not. I also thought you could send stuff via PM.

But regardless, it appears that you rule. So now, I believe I can declare NextWar Tritium officially completed! Which means it's time to start compiling Diamond.

*sigh* Okay, looks like CF's attachment system hates all over Firefox, so let's see what else I can come up with...

Edit: Uploaded to GameFlood, complete with revolter codes for the Next War civs!

So, with Phase I of NWT/CIV Diamond complete, here's my to-do list:
  1. Add CIV Gold civs and revolter code
  2. Come up with and and implement a few breakaways from the Next War civs. A few possible ideas for this:
    • Kingdom of the Isles (Britain/Ireland)
    • South Pacific Commonwealth (Aus/NZ, possibly Indonesia et al)
    • The Titanium Horde (Mongol empire under the Great Khans, possibly Russia)
    • Iberia
    • Empire of the Rising Sun (resurgent Japan conquering southeast Asia)
    • Nile Hegemony (Classical Egypt and then some!)
Feel free to contribute revolter ideas. Hum, maybe this should be moved out of the Rev subforum at this point?
It's not letting me download it... Any way you can upload it to rapidshare or something?
QwertyKey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2008, 05:04 AM   #15
Duneflower
Warlord
 
Duneflower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: SW Utah
Posts: 289
I'd really rather not sign up for another site at this point; do you have to for RS?

Also, does it say why it's not letting you download it?
Duneflower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2008, 10:13 AM   #16
jdog5000
Revolutionary
 
jdog5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: California
Posts: 2,596
Awesome!

I had to allow some scripts to get the gameflood download to work, but it worked fine for me.
jdog5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2008, 01:54 PM   #17
Duneflower
Warlord
 
Duneflower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: SW Utah
Posts: 289
Oyeah...one other thing I plan on doing with Tritium is giving the NW leaders truly unique UUs and UBs, with cues from the civs they're based on. Already got ideas like the PAPC Re-education Center and America Inc.'s Commercial Arcade; feel free to contribute.
Duneflower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 02, 2008, 07:44 AM   #18
Duneflower
Warlord
 
Duneflower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: SW Utah
Posts: 289
Now linked from the DB.
Duneflower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2008, 04:25 PM   #19
David Smith
Warlord
 
David Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 219
Thumbs down Down load links!

Link justs puts you into an endless loop unless you download their "Free downloader Manager" Thanks, but NO Thanks! on the free softwear! Can you use another site?
David Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2008, 02:16 AM   #20
Duneflower
Warlord
 
Duneflower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: SW Utah
Posts: 289
I think you clicked the wrong link after choosing to d/l; I just tried and didn't have that problem. Make sure you click on "Download content without installing the Download Manager".

Edit: Hrm...I have confirmation of something like a compatibility problem with Chrome. Is that what you're using?

Last edited by Duneflower; Dec 07, 2008 at 02:29 AM.
Duneflower is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Creation & Customization > Civ4 - Project & Mod Development > Civ4 - Revolution Modpack > Yet Another Merger

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Warlords merger kazapp Site Feedback 1 Jun 29, 2008 08:24 PM
Russian-Belarussian merger? RedRalph Off-Topic 42 Dec 12, 2007 03:24 AM
Site Merger Bob III Civ4 - Rhye's and Fall of Civilization 44 Apr 17, 2007 12:37 AM
Do you want the truth about the merger? Kozmos Off-Topic 9 Apr 01, 2007 01:46 PM
merger between two forums? meltone1 Civ3 - General Discussions 9 Nov 08, 2003 06:02 AM


Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR