Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center  

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Creation & Customization > Civ4 - Project & Mod Development > Rise of Mankind: A New Dawn

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Dec 02, 2009, 10:33 PM   #1
Afforess
The White Wizard
 
Afforess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 11,669
Gender: Male
Frequently Asked Questions

Installation & Setup
  1. If you are using Vista or Windows 7, Either turn off your UAC or Right-Click on your Civilization 4 Beyond the Sword shortcut, enter the properties menu, and under the "Compatibility" tab, select "Run As Administrator".

  2. Download the Mod from the link above

  3. Install the "Mods" folder on your computer (the installer should attempt to help you out here)

  4. Install AND with the components you want.

  5. Launch BTS, load Rise of Mankind - A New Dawn, and play!


Frequently Asked Questions
  1. I started up my game, but nothing appears different!
  2. I installed A New Dawn correctly, but in game, the terrain flickers and is black!
    • Although the cause is not known (I suspect users are running out of VRAM), the solution is either to remove some of the new civilizations from the Mega Pack out of the Rise of Mankind/Assets/Modules/Custom Civilizations folder OR only use FULL or LITE RoM.

  3. When I start the game up, the interface is all gone! I can't select anything!
    • This occurs with bad installs. Go back to the Directions and try again.

  4. When I tried to install A New Dawn, I got an error message that said "bad end of central directory record"
    • This occurs when the download is interrupted, which can happen for a variety of reasons. Redownload the mod and try again.

  5. What is a A New Dawn (RAND)?
    • A New Dawn is an expansion mod of Rise of Mankind

  6. There are features that I want/don't want. How do I turn them on/off?
    There are three ways to choose features in this modpack:
    • The first one is through installation process. When you install, there are list of features that you can choose from to be installed.
    • Second, when you load the mod, you should go to Custom Game and go to the options below the default options there. There will be more features for you to choose from.
    • Third, you will be able to use BUG Options Screen's tab named "A New Dawn". There will be even more features in there. Also, don't forget to check out other choices in other tabs as well.

  7. What if I don't like some of your features, can I play without them?
    • Absolutely! I will never force users to play with a specific features. Every feature can be turned off or disabled.

  8. RoM plays slow on my computer, won't all this new content slow the game down even more?
    • No! I've fixed most of the things that cause Rise of Mankind to play slower. Even if you install all the extra components, you should still experience a 10-20% speed boost from standard Rise of Mankind.

  9. I think I found a bug in A New Dawn, what do I do?
    • Report it! A screenshot and/or a save, along with your A New Dawn.log (located in your base Rise of Mankind folder) would also be helpful.

  10. Will you add feature X to your Mod?
    • I do take feature requests, as long as they are feasible.

  11. What features will be in your next version?
  12. Is A New Dawn available in any other languages than English?
    • Yes. Most of the text has been translated into German and French. Iff you can translate the text for me, I will gladly add it in the next version.

  13. How do I get A New Dawn to work on a Mac?
    • Step 1: Throw your Mac out the nearest window
    • Step 2: Buy a PC

  14. If I want to send you a donation, where do I send it?
    • I can not take donations, but if you feel obligated to pay for this mod, send a donation to Amnesty International.

__________________
"A Witty Saying Proves Nothing"
-Voltaire

Last edited by Afforess; Sep 27, 2010 at 07:47 PM.
Afforess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2009, 09:26 AM   #2
TechXLtd
Prime Directorate
 
TechXLtd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 197
Since this seems like the appropriate thread, If I were to make a slight modification to your modmod and want to upload it for your modmod, would I just make it in this thread or should I upload it for you to put into your main download/optional thread? I'm wondering where I should upload the new fixed borders 'claim territory' button.
__________________
A conservative is a man who sits and thinks, mostly sits ~ Woodrow Wilson
Economic Left/Right: -5.50
Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -4.36
TechXLtd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2009, 09:32 AM   #3
Afforess
The White Wizard
 
Afforess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 11,669
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechXLtd View Post
Since this seems like the appropriate thread, If I were to make a slight modification to your modmod and want to upload it for your modmod, would I just make it in this thread or should I upload it for you to put into your main download/optional thread? I'm wondering where I should upload the new fixed borders 'claim territory' button.
I'd either put in the 1.50 discussion thread or make a new one entirely.

PS I'm not the only one who can make threads in the forum, don't be shy.
__________________
"A Witty Saying Proves Nothing"
-Voltaire
Afforess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2009, 11:40 PM   #4
Hydromancerx
C2C Modder
 
Hydromancerx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: California, USA
Posts: 15,041
You forgot one ...

12. Why is Afforess so awesome?
Hydromancerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2009, 12:08 AM   #5
Afforess
The White Wizard
 
Afforess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 11,669
Gender: Male
I added a new section for common errors, to assuage the growing number of users who can not install A New Dawn correctly.
__________________
"A Witty Saying Proves Nothing"
-Voltaire
Afforess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 06, 2010, 04:49 AM   #6
Khoukharev
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 97
Where should I look for modmod version I installed in order to check whether update is available?
Khoukharev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 06, 2010, 12:13 PM   #7
NBAfan
boss
 
NBAfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dallas TX,United States
Posts: 3,348
Quote:
Originally Posted by Khoukharev View Post
Where should I look for modmod version I installed in order to check whether update is available?
Scroll over your Civ's flag and it will say what version is installed.
NBAfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2010, 12:40 AM   #8
Plutos
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5
i followed the step by step and i still dont get new dawn the only thing i dont have are the sea monsters what am i doing wrong
Plutos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2010, 12:44 PM   #9
Afforess
The White Wizard
 
Afforess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 11,669
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plutos View Post
i followed the step by step and i still dont get new dawn the only thing i dont have are the sea monsters what am i doing wrong
Are you getting an error message, or is the content not showing up? If it's an error, could you please post it?
__________________
"A Witty Saying Proves Nothing"
-Voltaire
Afforess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2010, 01:41 PM   #10
Lowenar
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 6
I HAD the same problem with installing. The install seemed to go flawlessly, everything seems to be going to the correct folder and the WoC java applet merges stuff, but when I start up and load RoM I just got basic RoM without AND.

The reason and solution for this is simple, I had a Rise of Mankind folder I forgot all about in \documents\my games\...etc... delete that and it should actually load AND
Lowenar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2010, 11:02 PM   #11
Plutos
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5
im not getting the wrong file message i copied it over to the program files correctly and i tried what lowenar said and now i cant even access RoM but the WoC installer said ERROR: Error merging files abort just before that it was reading to the assest/XML/audio i cant copy it for some reason
Plutos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2010, 10:19 AM   #12
Afforess
The White Wizard
 
Afforess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 11,669
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plutos View Post
im not getting the wrong file message i copied it over to the program files correctly and i tried what lowenar said and now i cant even access RoM but the WoC installer said ERROR: Error merging files abort just before that it was reading to the assest/XML/audio i cant copy it for some reason
Are you using Vista/Win7? UAC is likely blocking the installer from writing to files in your Program Files. If that is the case, turn UAC off.
__________________
"A Witty Saying Proves Nothing"
-Voltaire
Afforess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2010, 09:59 PM   #13
Plutos
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5
im using XP, and this time the woc went perfectly but their was no A New Dawn concepts or military civs or anything that i checked, specs:

{Required Files} {Military Civics} {Beautification Project} {Castle Improvements} {Civic Flavors} {Ice Breaker} {Ideology Civics} Meteorology {Mountains } {Realistic Diplomacy} {Seafaring } {Resource Refinement} {Multiple Production Mod} {War Prizes} Zoology Firestorm {The World's Fair} Arctic {Larger Cities} {Espionage Process} Forestation {Sea Tunnels} Terraforming {Lead From Behind} {Event Images} Education Sports {Hi-Res Cursors} {Fixed Borders} NIMBY {Civic Buildings & More Wonders} {Surround and Destroy} {No Storms} {Advanced Diplomacy} {Balanced Civics} {Early Buildings} ANM Fortifications
Plutos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2010, 10:22 AM   #14
Afforess
The White Wizard
 
Afforess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 11,669
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plutos View Post
im using XP, and this time the woc went perfectly but their was no A New Dawn concepts or military civs or anything that i checked, specs:

{Required Files} {Military Civics} {Beautification Project} {Castle Improvements} {Civic Flavors} {Ice Breaker} {Ideology Civics} Meteorology {Mountains } {Realistic Diplomacy} {Seafaring } {Resource Refinement} {Multiple Production Mod} {War Prizes} Zoology Firestorm {The World's Fair} Arctic {Larger Cities} {Espionage Process} Forestation {Sea Tunnels} Terraforming {Lead From Behind} {Event Images} Education Sports {Hi-Res Cursors} {Fixed Borders} NIMBY {Civic Buildings & More Wonders} {Surround and Destroy} {No Storms} {Advanced Diplomacy} {Balanced Civics} {Early Buildings} ANM Fortifications
Do you have this issue?
__________________
"A Witty Saying Proves Nothing"
-Voltaire
Afforess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2010, 11:11 PM   #15
Plutos
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5
ya and i did what lowenar said and RoM didn't even appear when I went to mods and when i recopied it from program files i got a bunch of XML errors
Plutos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2010, 03:22 PM   #16
gutenstagl
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 3
Compatibility?

Is New Dawn compatible with Rise of Mankind 2.9? Or the later expansion to 3.something?
Because I've tried installing it with both of these 2 and it gives me some xml errors regarding the unit files
I'm also wondering if my problem may be due to where I have Civ4 installed, it's in a folder on the C: drive (NOT my documents, but not program files either)???
gutenstagl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2010, 03:34 PM   #17
Afforess
The White Wizard
 
Afforess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 11,669
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by gutenstagl View Post
Is New Dawn compatible with Rise of Mankind 2.9? Or the later expansion to 3.something?
Because I've tried installing it with both of these 2 and it gives me some xml errors regarding the unit files
I'm also wondering if my problem may be due to where I have Civ4 installed, it's in a folder on the C: drive (NOT my documents, but not program files either)???
No, its not. I am close to releasing a version for 2.9. For now, you can try my latest betas, they work with RoM 2.9
__________________
"A Witty Saying Proves Nothing"
-Voltaire
Afforess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2010, 11:33 PM   #18
gutenstagl
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 3
Ack

Ok, so I tried to start a multiplayer game with 3 of my buddies, and we can't see any games in either the internet or LAN lobby. Any clue why we can't seem to get this to work???
gutenstagl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2010, 10:52 AM   #19
Afforess
The White Wizard
 
Afforess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 11,669
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by gutenstagl View Post
Ok, so I tried to start a multiplayer game with 3 of my buddies, and we can't see any games in either the internet or LAN lobby. Any clue why we can't seem to get this to work???
Use Direct IP, it works.
__________________
"A Witty Saying Proves Nothing"
-Voltaire
Afforess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 03, 2010, 06:14 AM   #20
vincentz
Divemaster
 
vincentz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,775
eh, I guess this is a stupid question, but where is the Uninstaller?
I tried to install almost everything, but some of Hydro's mods uses biofuel and smart medicine which I removed to make place for my guilds, so I removed those mods and now RoM won't start.
vincentz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Creation & Customization > Civ4 - Project & Mod Development > Rise of Mankind: A New Dawn > Frequently Asked Questions

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Frequently Asked Questions zappara Civ4 - Rise of Mankind 51 Jun 25, 2011 06:53 PM
Frequently Asked Questions asioasioasio Civ4 - World War II 1939 Mod 17 Nov 24, 2009 06:33 AM
Frequently Asked Questions Sirp Civ3 - General Discussions 109 Nov 23, 2004 04:19 PM
Frequently Asked Questions Meneer Popken Civ3 - General Discussions 316 May 30, 2002 11:58 AM
Not-so-frequently asked questions Ferd Civ3 - General Discussions 15 Dec 07, 2001 05:26 PM


Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR