Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center  

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Creation & Customization > Civ4 - New Civilizations

Old Jan 26, 2010, 12:25 AM   #1
patronofthearts
Chieftain

Akkadian Empire

Hello everybody. I have never yet posted a mod to these forums, but I have been an occasional visitor/downloader. I am new to modding, so this civ is fairly simple--not a whole lot of new graphics or anything, but I still tried to make it worth checking out. I think it turned out pretty well. I might add some better graphics, more leaders/cities in the future.

This will be part of a mod eventually encompassing the entire ancient Middle East, possibly including any of the following civs:

The Halaf culture
The Ubaid culture
Uruk
Third Dynasty of Ur
Mittani
Hatti (Hittites)
Kassite Empire
Philistia
Israel
Judah
Assyria
Phoenicia
Phrygia
Chaldean Empire

I am an archaeologist of the Middle East at a major American university, so I have a pretty good background on this stuff. I have for the most part figured out what leaders, unique units, cities etc. I want for all these civs, so hopefully I will get them done one at a time and upload them here. If I get them all done, I would like to make them into a single Ancient Middle East mod with maps and its own tech tree and such. I have a little bit of experience in graphic design, but only in 2D, so if anyone enjoys these mods and is interested in helping contribute some better graphics, that would be a great improvement.

The Akkadian empire was a kingdom of Mesopotamia in the 3rd millenium BC. They conquered the Sumerians and consolidated the region militarily, and they are widely considered the first real "empire." I attached an image of the Victory Stele of Naram-Sin, the most famous artifact from the Akkadian civilization. Pretty cool stuff. If you are interested, there is more information about it in the Civilopedia.

The Akkadian Empire

Starts with: Mysticism, Mining