Not off to a good start...

evanbgood

Chieftain
Well, I hate to say it this early, but I'm stuck on my attempts to mod. Admittedly, I'm a bit new to all of it (I've only dabbled with modding in a few games and never with a Civ before), but I didn't think I'd hit a road block right at the beginning!

So, here's my problem. All I'm trying to do is test out a simple override that should beef up the scout and the warrior to rediculous levels (just for testing purposes, obviously). The problem is, it simply doesn't work... No error messages or crashes or anything, it's just as if the mod doesn't exist.

As for what I've done so far, I started out by writing this xml:

Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<!-- Created by ModBuddy on 10/8/2010 12:52:33 PM -->
<GameData>
	<Units>
		<Update>
			<Where Type="UNIT_SCOUT" />
			<Set Combat="40" />
			<Set Cost="1" />
			<Set Moves="10" />
		</Update>
		<Update>
			<Where Type="UNIT_WARRIOR" />
			<Set Combat="40" />
		</Update>
	</Units>
</GameData>
I saved it as "uberscout.xml" in my project. In my project's properties, I named it "Weird Mod", set it to work with saved games, and set an action of OnModActivated, UpdateDatabase, uberscout.xml.

From what I read, that should really be it, right? I publish the project, I find it in the mod browser, activate it and load it like any of the other dozens of mods I've used successfully... but no success! If it helps, I also have the raw data from my .modinfo file:

Spoiler :
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<Mod id="ce0b5452-ef5c-4e1b-898c-634fc9b1d55b" version="1">
<Properties>
<Name>WeirdMod</Name>
<Stability>Experimental</Stability>
<Description>Completely ruins the game for testing purposes, fun, and profit.</Description>
<Authors>Evan B Good</Authors>
<AffectsSavedGames>0</AffectsSavedGames>
<SupportsSinglePlayer>1</SupportsSinglePlayer>
<SupportsMultiplayer>1</SupportsMultiplayer>
<SupportsMac>1</SupportsMac>
<ReloadLandmarkSystem>0</ReloadLandmarkSystem>