Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Technical Support

Notices

Civ4 - Technical Support Forum for technical questions, such as compatibilities, game installation, sound, or video problems.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Jan 19, 2011, 01:45 PM   #1
kiwitt
Road to War Modder
 
kiwitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
Posts: 5,061
Installing Civ 4 on Windows 7/Vista (32-/64-bit)

Installing on Windows 7/Vista
NOTE: These may work for Windows 8 as well

Background
I have played Civ for nearly two decades now and on various versions of Windows from Win 3.x through Win9x/2K/XP up to today's Windows Vista/7x64. In addition, I have worked as an IT engineer for over 20 years. My method for installing games has worked flawlessly throughout this time. Others experiences with Windows 7 may also help.

Windows Vista and now 7, have changed the security model for the usual folder that the games are installed in (i.e. c:\program files\), has additional protection. In addition a normal user is now no longer an "administrator", with full control over all files. Win7/Vista is a different OS (i.e. internally known as Windows 6.1/6.0) versus Windows XP/2000 (i.e. Windows 5.1/5.0), so they have changed quite a few things since it Civ 4 was first released. As Civ 4 was written well before these changes the usual install can have issues further down the line (e.g. when you add or change mods).

NOTE: I do not have Civ 4 Complete, but if you can find the individual setup files on the DVD media provided, you should be OK. For Steam-based versions please refer to the instructions that came with that version, however my tips below may help.

Installation Procedure

Preparation

1: Download all patches for the Civ 4 versions you have in advance to another folder (e.g. c:\TEMP)
- -
Civ4Patch1.61, Civ4Patch1.74, Civ4WarlordsPatch2.08, Civ4WarlordsPatch2.13, Civ4BTS_Patch_v3.17, Civ4BeyondTheSwordPatch3.19

Alternate Download LinksYou may want to save these to another external drive, should you need to rebuild your PC or get a new one

2: Open Windows Explorer and create a new folder in C: drive called GAMES
This will avoid the additional security protections that have been placed on the "C:\Program Files\" folder

3: Be sure you have all the necessary Install Disks for Civ4 and it's expansions.

4: May need to update your DX9 files. Click the icon below to take you to the download page


5: You should also add Windows 7 SP1 32/64-bit or Windows Vista SP2 - 32-bit or 64-bit
NOTE: Windows Update will do this for you automatically

6: Ensure all your Graphic Drivers are up to date.
Select your driver by clicking on the appropriate logo below

For laptops and others with integrated graphics please use your manufacturers website


Installation

NOTE1: You will need to "Right-Click" on the "Setup.exe" file and then "Run as Administrator"
NOTE2: For all installation setups you will need to run the "Custom" option, to allow you change the default installation folder to C:\GAMES\

Civilization 4

4: Insert the Civ 4 disk and then browse to the folder run the setup as mentioned in NOTE1 and NOTE2 and then select the custom folder as C:\GAMES\CIV4 and then follow the prompts

5: Right-click on Civ4Patch1.61 and "Run as Administrator" and then follow the prompts

Civilization 4 - Warlords
If you are not installing Warlords go to step 8

6: Insert the Civ 4 Warlords disk and then browse to the folder run the setup as mentioned in NOTE1 and follow the prompts

7: Right-click on Civ4WarlordsPatch2.08 and "Run as Administrator" and then follow the prompts

8: Right-click on Civ4Patch1.74 and "Run as Administrator" and then follow the prompts

9: Right-click on Civ4WarlordsPatch2.13 and "Run as Administrator" and then follow the prompts

Civilization 4 - Beyond the Sword
This expansion is now "Large-Address-Space" aware, meaning if you are running on Windows 7/Vista x64 and you have more than 4 GB of RAM, you will have up to 4GB available for you, which is especially useful on really large maps and custom mods you may download from cfc

10: Insert the Civ 4 Beyond the Sword disk and then browse to the folder run the setup as mentioned in NOTE1 and follow the prompts

11: Right-click on Civ4BTS_Patch_v3.17 and "Run as Administrator" and then follow the prompts

12: Right-click on Civ4BeyondTheSwordPatch3.19 and "Run as Administrator" and then follow the prompts

If you still are having problems you may find the answer in the Fix-it-List thread

For installing custom Mods
Install in the following folders for the version your mod has been written for.

C:\GAMES\CIV4\Mods - Civ4 vanilla Mods
C:\GAMES\CIV4\Warlords\Mods - Civ4 Warlords Mods
C:\GAMES\CIV4\Beyond The Sword\Mods - Civ4 BTS Mods

If you still have problems with your custom mod you have downloaded from cfc please contact the mod author directly in a post in the appropriate forum and many major mods have their own forum to help users of their mods.

These steps above should help with most of the problems you have with running Civ 4

Please feel free to comment and add additional suggestions to the above.

See also this thread for other assistance as well. Has another suggestion as well regarding Data Execution prevention
__________________
Modern Earth 1.3, which has over 1100 cities and 6,000 units, including lots of terrorists - ouch !!! - It should be called the Road to War on Terror - 1,000+ downloads
The Road to War - Historical 1.04a" - which is based on The Road to War - Original and has already had 5,000+ downloads. Dale (author of The Road to War) says "But what KiwiTT has done is take my core and expand the realism to form a version of RtW that is pleasing for the hard-cores. For that, KiwiTT gets a dip of my hat.
For future developments and info on these are future mods see ... Facebook/TheRoadToWar"
*** Need help installing Civ4 onto Vista/7/8 read my thread in here *** IOT GM of the year for 2011 for Iron and Blood 1

Last edited by kiwitt; Jun 12, 2013 at 06:08 PM. Reason: Added Alternative Download links
kiwitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2011, 12:55 AM   #2
vhhawk
Warlord
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 195
Thanks kiwitt! Your instructions and links to the patches worked perfectly, including the note about skipping the Warlords install. I went from Vanilla to patch 1.61 to patch 1.74 to BTS to patch 3.17 to patch 3.19. I am now grinning big because I can watch the BTS videos and wonder movies for the first time. (Neither my old laptop nor its desktop predecessor would run the videos.) Also appreciate the advice of copying the patch files to a CD for safekeeping in my game box. Your post came at a very timely moment as I was preparing to run the gauntlet of conflicting Win7 install advice. A few months ago I pulled my hair out trying to get BTS installed on the new laptop. I had decided to try it again tonight, so great, great timing.

One thing you might want to add or note. The installation asks if you want to install Xfire, register the game, and do something else, and I unticked each of those three choices. I was a tad unsure whether those were required in some way.

Last edited by vhhawk; Jan 20, 2011 at 01:00 AM.
vhhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2011, 07:25 PM   #3
Kperrin
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Hello,

I have read the forum and have tried all the disk will not launch and my setup give me an error code(below). I have checked my direct X and have un the fix-it application, nothing seams to help. I am at my wits end on this one.

first the disk will not auto-launch, i have tried to run the application manually but receive :

The application was unable to start correctly (0xc0000006).

Thanks.
Kperrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2011, 07:53 PM   #4
kiwitt
Road to War Modder
 
kiwitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
Posts: 5,061
That is a windows generic error.

Sounds like a faulty CD possibly
__________________
Modern Earth 1.3, which has over 1100 cities and 6,000 units, including lots of terrorists - ouch !!! - It should be called the Road to War on Terror - 1,000+ downloads
The Road to War - Historical 1.04a" - which is based on The Road to War - Original and has already had 5,000+ downloads. Dale (author of The Road to War) says "But what KiwiTT has done is take my core and expand the realism to form a version of RtW that is pleasing for the hard-cores. For that, KiwiTT gets a dip of my hat.
For future developments and info on these are future mods see ... Facebook/TheRoadToWar"
*** Need help installing Civ4 onto Vista/7/8 read my thread in here *** IOT GM of the year for 2011 for Iron and Blood 1

Last edited by kiwitt; Jan 20, 2011 at 07:58 PM.
kiwitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2011, 09:04 PM   #5
Kperrin
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
dont believe thats it as the disk was used on other pcs.

just got a new computer with this operating system.
Kperrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2011, 09:11 PM   #6
kiwitt
Road to War Modder
 
kiwitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
Posts: 5,061
Have you right=clicked and run as admin
__________________
Modern Earth 1.3, which has over 1100 cities and 6,000 units, including lots of terrorists - ouch !!! - It should be called the Road to War on Terror - 1,000+ downloads
The Road to War - Historical 1.04a" - which is based on The Road to War - Original and has already had 5,000+ downloads. Dale (author of The Road to War) says "But what KiwiTT has done is take my core and expand the realism to form a version of RtW that is pleasing for the hard-cores. For that, KiwiTT gets a dip of my hat.
For future developments and info on these are future mods see ... Facebook/TheRoadToWar"
*** Need help installing Civ4 onto Vista/7/8 read my thread in here *** IOT GM of the year for 2011 for Iron and Blood 1
kiwitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2011, 09:14 PM   #7
Kperrin
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
yeah, several times...
Kperrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2011, 09:22 PM   #8
kiwitt
Road to War Modder
 
kiwitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
Posts: 5,061
It might pay to search out a solution in one of the links I googled.

As I said it is a common Windows error so the solution may be in those.
__________________
Modern Earth 1.3, which has over 1100 cities and 6,000 units, including lots of terrorists - ouch !!! - It should be called the Road to War on Terror - 1,000+ downloads
The Road to War - Historical 1.04a" - which is based on The Road to War - Original and has already had 5,000+ downloads. Dale (author of The Road to War) says "But what KiwiTT has done is take my core and expand the realism to form a version of RtW that is pleasing for the hard-cores. For that, KiwiTT gets a dip of my hat.
For future developments and info on these are future mods see ... Facebook/TheRoadToWar"
*** Need help installing Civ4 onto Vista/7/8 read my thread in here *** IOT GM of the year for 2011 for Iron and Blood 1
kiwitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2011, 09:29 PM   #9
Kperrin
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
know any good forums to start my search?
Kperrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2011, 09:40 PM   #10
kiwitt
Road to War Modder
 
kiwitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
Posts: 5,061
search for this ""0xc0000006" site:microsoft.com" in google
__________________
Modern Earth 1.3, which has over 1100 cities and 6,000 units, including lots of terrorists - ouch !!! - It should be called the Road to War on Terror - 1,000+ downloads
The Road to War - Historical 1.04a" - which is based on The Road to War - Original and has already had 5,000+ downloads. Dale (author of The Road to War) says "But what KiwiTT has done is take my core and expand the realism to form a version of RtW that is pleasing for the hard-cores. For that, KiwiTT gets a dip of my hat.
For future developments and info on these are future mods see ... Facebook/TheRoadToWar"
*** Need help installing Civ4 onto Vista/7/8 read my thread in here *** IOT GM of the year for 2011 for Iron and Blood 1
kiwitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2011, 09:16 AM   #11
art_vandelay
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
im told that i need directx 9.0c to play civ 4 and i was wondering if you could tell me how i can check if i have it on my laptop, im pretty bad when it comes to computers so any help would be greatly appreciated
art_vandelay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2011, 12:01 PM   #12
kiwitt
Road to War Modder
 
kiwitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
Posts: 5,061
When you run the installs it will install any DX9 files you may need.

NOTE: You must run as admin as I said above.
__________________
Modern Earth 1.3, which has over 1100 cities and 6,000 units, including lots of terrorists - ouch !!! - It should be called the Road to War on Terror - 1,000+ downloads
The Road to War - Historical 1.04a" - which is based on The Road to War - Original and has already had 5,000+ downloads. Dale (author of The Road to War) says "But what KiwiTT has done is take my core and expand the realism to form a version of RtW that is pleasing for the hard-cores. For that, KiwiTT gets a dip of my hat.
For future developments and info on these are future mods see ... Facebook/TheRoadToWar"
*** Need help installing Civ4 onto Vista/7/8 read my thread in here *** IOT GM of the year for 2011 for Iron and Blood 1
kiwitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2011, 12:39 PM   #13
art_vandelay
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Thanks, ive got some more questions if you wouldnt mind answering them

How do i create the new folder GAMES in the C: drive?

I am getting the gold version of the game and im told that it has the patches for it, so do i just patch from 3.17 to 3.19 for BTS?

Again i really appreciate the help
art_vandelay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2011, 01:08 PM   #14
kiwitt
Road to War Modder
 
kiwitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
Posts: 5,061
Ouch!! You have never created a new folder to store your files into.

That is outside the scope of this article, but one of these links will help
"How to create a folder in windows"

As to the versions I am not sure what Gold contains.
__________________
Modern Earth 1.3, which has over 1100 cities and 6,000 units, including lots of terrorists - ouch !!! - It should be called the Road to War on Terror - 1,000+ downloads
The Road to War - Historical 1.04a" - which is based on The Road to War - Original and has already had 5,000+ downloads. Dale (author of The Road to War) says "But what KiwiTT has done is take my core and expand the realism to form a version of RtW that is pleasing for the hard-cores. For that, KiwiTT gets a dip of my hat.
For future developments and info on these are future mods see ... Facebook/TheRoadToWar"
*** Need help installing Civ4 onto Vista/7/8 read my thread in here *** IOT GM of the year for 2011 for Iron and Blood 1

Last edited by kiwitt; Jan 28, 2011 at 01:11 PM.
kiwitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2011, 06:13 PM   #15
[KC]Bantams
Chieftain
 
[KC]Bantams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: England
Posts: 98
This fix is slightly flawed all you need is BTS 3.19 that updates all the other civ 4 games anyway

always run windows update once a week helps too check the hidden ones also
[KC]Bantams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 04, 2011, 08:17 AM   #16
Norvin_Green
Emperor
 
Norvin_Green's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: The Garden State
Posts: 1,874
Hi and thanks for the directions on how to install it to minimize problems. Any chance you can give us a way to completely uninstall it so that we can re-install using your method? Thanks, NG
Norvin_Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 04, 2011, 01:38 PM   #17
vhhawk
Warlord
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norvin_Green View Post
Hi and thanks for the directions on how to install it to minimize problems. Any chance you can give us a way to completely uninstall it so that we can re-install using your method? Thanks, NG
In Win7/64 I was able to uninstall it using the Windows Control Panel/Programs/Uninstall function.
vhhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 04, 2011, 08:33 PM   #18
Phrossack
Unimportant person
 
Phrossack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: City of the Violent Saint
Posts: 3,533
I'm following your instructions but getting an error halfway through the installation process. It reads:

Feature Transfer Error
Feature: Default Feature
Component: Civ4 Component
File: D:\data.cab
Error: Data Error
__________________
"A canter is a cure for every evil."
-Benjamin Disraeli

It's very strange, the old man said, to see a snake eat its own head.
Phrossack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 04, 2011, 11:41 PM   #19
kiwitt
Road to War Modder
 
kiwitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
Posts: 5,061
Have you checked the install on another PC to see if their is a problem with the disk
__________________
Modern Earth 1.3, which has over 1100 cities and 6,000 units, including lots of terrorists - ouch !!! - It should be called the Road to War on Terror - 1,000+ downloads
The Road to War - Historical 1.04a" - which is based on The Road to War - Original and has already had 5,000+ downloads. Dale (author of The Road to War) says "But what KiwiTT has done is take my core and expand the realism to form a version of RtW that is pleasing for the hard-cores. For that, KiwiTT gets a dip of my hat.
For future developments and info on these are future mods see ... Facebook/TheRoadToWar"
*** Need help installing Civ4 onto Vista/7/8 read my thread in here *** IOT GM of the year for 2011 for Iron and Blood 1
kiwitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2011, 12:39 PM   #20
Phrossack
Unimportant person
 
Phrossack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: City of the Violent Saint
Posts: 3,533
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiwitt View Post
Have you checked the install on another PC to see if their is a problem with the disk
No; it was installing fine before I changed the installation directory to a new folder, it just claimed CivIV was incompatible with Vista. The disc worked fine before I had my computer's graphics card changed. They must've done something else as well, though, as it removed all my programs and now keeps Civ from working. I'm pretty sure the problem isn't the disc.
__________________
"A canter is a cure for every evil."
-Benjamin Disraeli

It's very strange, the old man said, to see a snake eat its own head.
Phrossack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Technical Support > Installing Civ 4 on Windows 7/Vista (32-/64-bit)

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR