Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION V > Civ5 - Creation & Customization > Civ5 - Modding Tutorials & Reference

Notices

Civ5 - Modding Tutorials & Reference Post tutorials, guides, and documentations related to Civ5 modding here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Sep 20, 2011, 03:00 PM   #1
Thalassicus
Bytes and Nibblers
 
Thalassicus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 11,058
Plus Common Checklist for playing mods

--- Common Checklist ---

Civ 5 has several things everyone needs to check for when using any mod.

Summary:
  1. Everything up to date.
  2. Update between games.
  3. Try the English version.
  4. Delete the cache folder.
  5. Delete the ModUserData folder.
  6. Delete old mod versions.
  7. Load games from the main menu, and do not regenerate maps.
  8. Replacing farms crashes the game.
  9. If problems occur, check further on the list.

Details:
  1. Ensure your mods and Civ are up to date. Attempting to load mods or saves on incompatible versions of Civ usually crashes the game.

    If you're on a mac and a recent patch has not been released for macs, download an older version of the mod. All versions of each mod are available in the mod's listing on the Mod Browser (see Spoiler dropdown below). Many mods on the Mod Browser have not been updated by their creators in months, and won't work with the latest patches; the threads here at CivFanatics are generally the best indicators of recent activity.

    Spoiler for Past Versions of mods on Mod Browser:
  2. Update the game and mods between finishing one game and starting the next. Changing the game, then loading an old save usually works, but can sometimes crash or cause other weird effects.
    .
  3. Play mods on the English version of Civ if possible. Some mods are compatible with other language versions, but most mods are less compatible. This is unfortunate, but due to the reality most modders don't have translation teams like Firaxis or other major game developers.
    .
  4. Delete the cache folder. It contains temporary data that can cause bizzare bugs after changing mods:
    C:\<username>\Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 5\cache
    .
  5. Sometimes if you delete the ModUserData folder it can solve rarer problems.
    C:\<username>\Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 5\ModUserData
    .
  6. Ensure you have only one version of the mod installed in the MODS folder.
    .
  7. Exit to the main menu to load games. Loading a savefile from within an active game breaks all mods with lua code.
    UPDATE: it appears the same problem happens if we regenerate the map.
    .
    .
    .
    .
    If you encounter problems while playing a mod . . .
    .
  8. Try the mod on average map settings: standard size, standard speed, Continents script, default advanced game options. Some mods are incompatible with some map scripts.
    .
  9. Try the mod alone with other mods moved out out of the Mods folder:
    C:\<username>\Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 5\MODS
    .
  10. Verify the game files are not corrupted. Firaxis posted instructions on how to do this: click here.
    .
  11. Check the load order of the mods you are using. The mod installed first loads first. To change load order:
    1. Move all mods out of the /MODS folder.
    2. Move in the mod you wish to load first.
    3. Enable it ingame.
    4. Repeat #2-3 for each additional mod, one at a time.
      .
  12. Check if your problem is listed under the "Vanilla Bugs" below.
    .
  13. Contact the mod author about the problem you've encountered. Most mods have a thread or forum here on CivFanatics to leave feedback.


--- Vanilla Bugs/Problems ---

Civ 5 has several things to consider when loading/using mods, but the good news is most problems are easily avoided:
  1. Farms: If you build a farm atop a hidden resource like Horses, then later reveal the horses and attempt to build a pasture, the game crashes. This also happens if the AI does it.
    Workaround: None known.
    .
  2. Cache: Cache does not clear after changing mods (causes unpredictable issues from data collision).
    Workaround: Manually delete the cache folder.
    .
  3. Reloading: Loading or regenerating the map within an existing game breaks mods with lua code.
    Workaround: Exit to the main menu before loading games.
    .
  4. Combat: Quick combat and strategic view break mods which detect combat.
    Workaround: Avoid quick combat, and use normal view for combat situations and between turns.
    .
  5. Installation: Multiple versions of a mod in the Mods folder breaks the game, since it loads data from all installed mods, not just enabled ones.
    Workaround: Only have one version of each mod installed.
    .
  6. Updates: Changing mods or mod versions mid-game typically crashes when attempting to load the save (instead of providing an error message).
    Workaround: Update mods between finishing one game and starting the next.
    .
  7. Resources: Any mods that add or modify resources are incompatible with the Lakes, Great Plains, and Highlands map scripts, as well as any scenarios or custom maps with pre-set resource locations.
    Workaround: You can avoid these scripts entirely, or use altered versions of them that have no incompatibilities.
    .
  8. Multiplayer: Mods do not work in multiplayer.
    Workaround: None.
    .
  9. Conflicts: Two mods can be incompatible with each other without having any obvious error messages. If you try using multiple large mods and it doesn't immediately crash, that doesn't mean that the mods work together; you might not see unusual behavior until hundreds of turns into the game.
    Workaround: When in doubt, ask in the mods' threads here at CivFanatics.
__________________

We are the Modders. CiV will be assimilated.
We will enhance its biological and technological distinctiveness with our own.
Resistance is futile.


Communitas Expansion Pack
Wiki - Discussion - News


Forum Icons ~ Starting Civ5 Mods ~ Forum Tables

Last edited by Thalassicus; Dec 31, 2013 at 11:11 AM.
Thalassicus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2011, 03:39 PM   #2
Spatzimaus
Mad Scientist
 
Spatzimaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,063
I'd add a few more:

Checklist:
12> Ensure the mod you're using is compatible with the most recent version of the game. Many mods on the in-game Mod Browser have not been updated by their creators in months, and simply won't work with the latest patches; the threads here at CivFanatics are generally the best indicators of recent activity.

Vanilla bugs:
6> Resources: Any mod that adds new resources or modifies the distribution of existing resources will be incompatible with the Lakes, Great Plains, and Highlands map scripts, as well as any scenarios or custom maps with pre-set resource locations.
Workaround: You can avoid these scripts entirely, or use altered versions of them that have no incompatibilities.

7> Multiplayer: Mods do not work in multiplayer.
Workaround: None.

8> Conflicts: Two mods can be incompatible with each other without having any obvious error messages. If you try using multiple large mods and it doesn't immediately crash, that doesn't mean that the mods work together; you might not see unusual behavior until hundreds of turns into the game.
Workaround: When in doubt, ask in the mods' threads here at CivFanatics.
__________________
Once upon a time there was the Ages of Man mod set. Then Firaxis broke it. But thanks to the DLL efforts of the community, the mods shall rise again!
Spatzimaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2011, 04:31 PM   #3
Pazyryk
Deity
 
Pazyryk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3,584
Thanks Thalassicus. Is there any reason not to delete ModUserData? (Does it do anything good?)

Also, based on your instructions above it is not clear whether deleting cache and ModUserData can be done with Civ5 running (say when in menu mode before loading a new mod). I always assumed this was a bad idea.
Pazyryk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2011, 09:47 PM   #4
Sneaks
Brooklyn Bum
 
Sneaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,876
You cannot delete cache while the game is running. Not sure about moduserdata.
Sneaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2011, 08:36 AM   #5
Thalassicus
Bytes and Nibblers
 
Thalassicus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 11,058
Moduserdata is used by some mods to store game-wide options, such as whether to use a 12-hour or 24-hour clock in mods which add a clock.
__________________

We are the Modders. CiV will be assimilated.
We will enhance its biological and technological distinctiveness with our own.
Resistance is futile.


Communitas Expansion Pack
Wiki - Discussion - News


Forum Icons ~ Starting Civ5 Mods ~ Forum Tables
Thalassicus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2011, 11:28 PM   #6
Thalassicus
Bytes and Nibblers
 
Thalassicus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 11,058
A tip for modders: if your mod has lua code, include this custom property on the Project Properties screen in ModBuddy:

DisableLoadGameOption 1


This custom property was added by Firaxis in June (I believe) and disables the capability to reload from within an active game, therefore avoiding vanilla bug #2. I'm not sure if Firaxis is aware of this bug or this is simply a coincidence.
__________________

We are the Modders. CiV will be assimilated.
We will enhance its biological and technological distinctiveness with our own.
Resistance is futile.


Communitas Expansion Pack
Wiki - Discussion - News


Forum Icons ~ Starting Civ5 Mods ~ Forum Tables
Thalassicus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2012, 10:15 PM   #7
Thalassicus
Bytes and Nibblers
 
Thalassicus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 11,058
I added a note about the promotion limit. G&K reduced the number of promotions mods can have by 35%.
__________________

We are the Modders. CiV will be assimilated.
We will enhance its biological and technological distinctiveness with our own.
Resistance is futile.


Communitas Expansion Pack
Wiki - Discussion - News


Forum Icons ~ Starting Civ5 Mods ~ Forum Tables
Thalassicus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2012, 09:03 AM   #8
Rockmongrels
Chieftain
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 9
steam workshop

i can not get steam workshop to download any mods... i've subscribed to a few but no downloads, i deleted the chache and restarted game however steam will not down load the mods..what else should i try/
Rockmongrels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2012, 09:06 AM   #9
bc1
King
 
bc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 962
Is there a tutorial on how to download and install mods with the (not so) "new" Steam interface ? I tried "suscribing" mods but nothing happens (I have a legit non-corrupt install including all DLC + G&K)
(just noticed: same problem as previous poster, post being months old I guess no one cares)
bc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2012, 09:20 AM   #10
whoward69
Deity
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Near Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 5,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by bc1 View Post
Is there a tutorial on how to download and install mods with the (not so) "new" Steam interface ? I tried "suscribing" mods but nothing happens (I have a legit non-corrupt install including all DLC + G&K)
(just noticed: same problem as previous poster, post being months old I guess no one cares)
It's "stickied" in the main "Civ5 - Creation & Customization" forum, I guess no one bothers to read the forums before posting
__________________
All my Civ:V mods can be downloaded from http://www.picknmixmods.com/. My Civ:BE mods can be downloaded here. If you want to incorporate (parts of) my mods into your own mod(s), please read this first

Logging Attach mod File attributes UI Tutorials My Changes Mod DDS Basics Custom Game DLL Tutorials My DLL Source Unit Art Files Civ XML Files
whoward69 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2012, 10:01 AM   #11
bc1
King
 
bc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 962
I guess so Actually the subforum section is so large that I did not notice there was also a thread section below with the post I needed to read
http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=465972
bc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2012, 01:44 AM   #12
JA_Lamb
Warlord
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The changing Dark Continent
Posts: 231
Hi everyone, noobie CiV question. How do I get my OWN Mods into play please? I have experience in XML and Python modding from Civ4, so am not phased with changes and file exchanges for results. I even changed the GlobalDefines of CiV by the Civ4 method of replacing the original and some of the changes work in game. But... (there's always one isn't there?) the modding method via ModBuddy seems to be so much more logical that I'd like to use it. And here is the problem, I can download and bring to play other people's Mods. I usually do it via the manual method of down loading, and copying the files into C:\Users\user1\Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 5\MODS\ModNamexyz. For the past 20 days I have lurked here and read Kael's manual, Thalassicus's tut - which I followed and constructed a Template as well as various other tuts, and solutions offered. I used all the above resources to construct Kael's Simple Clock Mod, via ModBuddy, for the unique number allocation which was given. When I finished with the Mod in the Solution Panel the properties indicated that the save path would be as above. I could not find anywhere what the protocol is in saving the Mod and exiting ModBuddy, but I assumed that a File>MultiSave as it was offered was the way to go, so I did that. After exiting ModBuddy, I checked in \My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 5\MODS\ and Lo and Behold, My Mod was saved after the last slash. In the accompanying ModUserData file is the Mod's unique ModBuddy generated number (that's why this file also has to be voided in order to avoid Mod clashes). I entered the game, No Mod. Ahh, Thalassicus says "In the ModBuddy menus go to Build > Build Solution. Open Civ V and enable your mod under Mods > Installed Mods." How do I enable? I went in and pressed the Mod's Civilization V Solution button, I got a Busy Circle, then I retreated to the Desktop, Press the V shortcut for the game "and wait for it ..." There was No Mod in the Mods list! Played a couple of turns and came out, did this a number of times still no Mod!! Never mind that there's no other mod, that the cache has been cleaned, I even uninstalled the game, re-installed from it's original CD, and re-registered it from Steam, also getting the new patch for Vanilla in the process and did you know that we can now use an interactive screen with our fingers? But no, No Mod!!! If I can't get a simple 2 line XML and 3 line LUA progrm to work, how the heck can I Mod? Like all information says, the machine is clean, the files empty, the Cache reconstituted, the game bought and newly Steam updated. No it's not the new patch, because the problem existed before the update, the update came about because the Mod wasn't loading. Can anyone help please? and
__________________
"The future has nothing to do with future decisions but with the futurity of present decisions" P.F. Drucker.
JA_Lamb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2012, 10:45 AM   #13
Nutty
Deity
 
Nutty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Orange County, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 2,278
@JA_Lamb: Now that you built it, is your new mod now in the MODS folder?
Nutty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2012, 02:43 PM   #14
JA_Lamb
Warlord
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The changing Dark Continent
Posts: 231
Thanks Nutty, yes it was, as I reported - " I checked in \My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 5\MODS\ and Lo and Behold, My Mod was saved after the last slash" and it's ModBuddy number was shown in the ModUserData folder. Any ideas?
__________________
"The future has nothing to do with future decisions but with the futurity of present decisions" P.F. Drucker.
JA_Lamb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 09, 2012, 04:48 PM   #15
Nutty
Deity
 
Nutty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Orange County, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 2,278
Right, although you said this was the case after you chose File > MultiSave (I assume that's a translation, as it's "Save All" for me). It shouldn't have been in that folder until you built it. Did you set your project location to your Mods folder? Did you change any other paths?

You'll know it's the built copy because it will have "(v 1)" or whatever version number you're using after the mod's folder name, and it will have a .modinfo file in the folder with the same name and version.

I know there used to be problems when the game wasn't on the C drive, but I think that was fixed. I know there used to be problems when there were non-English characters in the username you use to login to Windows or non-English characters in the mod's name; I'm not sure whether those were fixed or not.

The only other thing I can think of is that maybe you made a copy of one of your other mods and never changed the Mod ID, in which case it will only find one of the mods, but if I understand you correctly, you deleted all the other mods in your mods folder...

I dunno...
Nutty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 06:00 AM   #16
JA_Lamb
Warlord
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The changing Dark Continent
Posts: 231
Hi again, sorry for the delay, but RL problems took me away and I didn't see your reply.

1st, let me elaborate my save as this could be an easily solvable problem ... or not. When I finished the ModBuddy work on the Mod, ie all files, properties etc. I did not know how to end the session, so I followed "Windows" procedure and clicked on the 'File' top left hand entry of ModBuddy. A fold down menu appeared, with the single "Disk Save" icon greyed out which means unavailable. however right below it, the "MultiSave" Icon was not greyed out but blue, depicting a number of floppys stacked one behind each other "MultiSaves?". That's what I pressed to end the Modbuddy session for the Mod.

Then I closed Mod Buddy, went to C:\Users\user1\Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 5\MODS and under MODS I found my little "LaMod Clock" Mod. It was there!! The files are all there as written and there is a - for lack of a better word, an executable that Notepad++ sees as compiled code that I have seen in all working Mods.

The 3 files are:

MODS\ Folder

LaMod Clock\ Folder

LaMod Clock "extn" FileFolder

LaMod Clock "extn" CIV5SLLN File

LaMod Clock "extn" CIV5SUO File

---
Note No where do I see a (vNumber) info, extn or expansion on the name as you maintain should be there.

Quote:
It shouldn't have been in that folder until you built it. Did you set your project location to your Mods folder? Did you change any other paths?
I did build it and saved as I explained above. I have not changed any paths, they should all be as "Steam" installed. The file paths are as follows:

C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Sid Meier's Civilization V - and
C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Sid Meier's Civilization V SDK - and ofcourse:
C:\Users\user1\Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 5\MODS

The fact that there is no version number that you mentioned, indicates there is a problem, what and where is it? I don't know. Suggestions?

Further how and when do you set Project Location? I did not see that in any Tuts.
__________________
"The future has nothing to do with future decisions but with the futurity of present decisions" P.F. Drucker.
JA_Lamb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 11:51 AM   #17
Nutty
Deity
 
Nutty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Orange County, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 2,278
Go to the Tools menu and choose Options. In Projects and Solutions > General, the Projects location should NOT be set to your Mods\ directory. Make it anything else (Mine is C:\Users\%username%\Documents\Firaxis ModBuddy). Then move your mod to a folder under whatever path you picked. When you're ready to test your mod, you go to the Build menu, and choose Build Solution, which will create your mod with a .modinfo file in the (v 1) directory under Mods\, etc. as described above.

EDIT: If the mod isn't appearing in your Mods\ folder at that point, then another path is wrong somewhere. However, you can copy it manually from the Build\ folder which should be created within your ModBuddy mod's file structure in the project location.

If you have more problems, this isn't the right thread for this conversation. Make a new post in the main Creation & Customization forum.

Last edited by Nutty; Nov 14, 2012 at 10:36 PM.
Nutty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 05:34 PM   #18
JA_Lamb
Warlord
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The changing Dark Continent
Posts: 231
Thank you Sir, I'll try your instructions. You're really a Prince!
__________________
"The future has nothing to do with future decisions but with the futurity of present decisions" P.F. Drucker.
JA_Lamb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 05:27 PM   #19
seancolorado
Deity
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by bc1 View Post
I guess so Actually the subforum section is so large that I did not notice there was also a thread section below with the post I needed to read
http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=465972
I was about to ask the same question (long-time player, first-time mod user) until I saw this. These kinds of forums are seemingly easy to navigate through but, really, they could be better. There are so many sections that it's really easy to miss a single thread
seancolorado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 05:36 PM   #20
seancolorado
Deity
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,021
What is the significance of deleting the cache and ModUser folders and does that mean they have no importance at all in gameplay to Civ 5?

I have G&K and almost every DLC and I have followed every step in getting my first mods to work but they simply do not show up. The only two things I haven't done are deleting those folders - is that the source of my problems?
seancolorado is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION V > Civ5 - Creation & Customization > Civ5 - Modding Tutorials & Reference > Common Checklist for playing mods

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR