A general strategy for Assyria

megabearsfan

Prince
I recently wrote a blog about a general strategy for playing as Assyria in Brave New World. I plan to go through and write a similar strategy for each of the BNW civs, and then maybe go back to some of the older civs, so I'd love to get some feedback from the community! This is my first time writing a strategy guide for Civ, so be gentle. :)

http://www.megabearsfan.net/post/2013/11/13/Civ-V-Assyria-strategy.aspx

And feel free to comment on, like, or share the blog post if you feel so inclined.

Thanks in advance!

nice guide! one little thing that might be good to add - if you are having trouble figuring out which civs have techs you don't have, the available trade routes screen can be very helpful for that.

Um, you aren't going to out tourism France with the extra writing slot, you can't get enough works of writing to fill them all anyway, even without the royal library. If it gave an artifact slot, maybe.

Um, you aren't going to out tourism France with the extra writing slot, you can't get enough works of writing to fill them all anyway, even without the royal library. If it gave an artifact slot, maybe.

Assyria has almost double the Great Literature slots available. If you steal Great Literature from conquered civs, you should be able to fill up both your Royal Libraries and Amphitheaters. If you're relying on generating your own Great Writers, then you are probably right, Magma_Dragoon, you will not be able to out-tourism France, but you will probably still come in a close second or third. If you're able to fill them up early, you basically have Brazil's "Carnival" (generating double tourism) for the entire second half of the game, instead of just in golden ages.

There is still a hard cap on how many writers exist in the game, so if you hit that cap and don't have all your buildings full, then you're kinda screwed. But that should only be a problem on large maps with a lot of civs.