Éa dll modding

Pazyryk

Deity
Well, I compiled and tested my own CvGameCore_Expansion2.dll, so now it's time to get down to business...

I thought I'd lay out my dll plans so folks could give feedback. This is for my total conversion mod, Éa, so the dll itself is not meant to be useful to other modders, though I'm happy if the code is. I'll probably hard-code a few changes, particularly regarding civilian unit stacking. The only constraint is that I need to be able to test the dll in autoplay in an otherwise unmodded BNW game.

I'm new to C++, but program in a few different scripting languages. The model I'm following is Gedemon's RED, using his excellent GitHub page (have other dll modders done anything like this?). I'll eventually set up a similar page for Éa's dll. I've listed all the critical needs for the mod below. I'm most interested in starting with the civilian movement constraints. Breaking civilian 1upt is critical for the mod, but I also think it is an utterly pointless and downright annoying feature in base Civ5.

I've color coded by my current estimate of difficulty: Easy, Medium or Hard. Blue = Done!

Part 1: Civilizations
  • Add table Civilization_Traits that acts in conjunction with Leader_Traits. Works! Civs can have traits too!
  • Change civilization type in-game. Using method below.
  • Change leader type in-game. Using method below.
  • Control of civ meeting and contact. Via two new GameEvents below.
  • New column in Civilizations: FallbackCityListCivType. Needed because mod has >100 Civs, but uses primarily 3 very long city lists (1 per race). It's "fallback" so civ-specific city names will be used if provided.
  • Modify research rate for Techs via GameEvents accumulator. Easy I guess because I can imitate the current city number effect.

New GameEvents:
GameEvents.CanMeetTeam(iTeam, iTeam2) Prevents any contact; war state can't be changed.