Thailand & Cambodia are awesome!

warpus

In pork I trust
Every once in a while I get bored of sitting here in southwestern Ontario, Canada and I go somewhere I've never been to before and do things that I've never done before. The timing of these trips seems to be suspiciously aligned with me having enough money saved up and enough vacation time booked for a month long trip or so... but the location is always a bit of a mystery until it falls in my lap or just "feels right".

In the spring and early summer of last year I had no idea where I wanted to go; nothing was calling my name loud enough. I had not taken any vacation time since my early 2012 Peru trip and I had been living a fairly frugal lifestyle (save save save!).. so the time was almost ripe for a trip.. And yet things were very busy at work, I couldn't find the frame of mind to focus planning a trip, and people at work had gotten used to having me around every single business day. My stature at work had increased by a level or two in that time period as well, increasing my responsibilities and involvement with day to day operations.. so the thought of getting away for 4-5 weeks again was a bit nerve-wrecking to say the least.

So then.. you know what? I've never been to Asia, LET'S GO TO ASIA. I started looking up flights and cast my net wide. A cheap flight to Bangkok came up via some intel found on a forum suggested by my roommate. Nov 15 - Dec 15, from Toronto, good connecting flights & decent waits, $918 after everything. Perfect. Thailand was on my list and I had just seen amazing pictures that my friend brought back from there on facebook. Plus it was already summer and the other places on my list from Asia were Japan and Nepal - places I'd rather visit in the summer - not enough time to plan a trip there.