A mod idea

mistersquare

Chieftain
I'm really new at this, and I'm not trying to step on anyone's toes. So if I offend you by accident, I am sorry. Well, so as not to bore you, here goes.

I really enjoyed the premise of the Final Frontier mod, and it looked awesome, (especially post Blue Marble), but as most people could agree the gameplay, though among the best of the various mods offered in BTS, wasn't equal to that of the original game.

However, I am a bit of a science and science fiction geek, so the other thing that kind of got on my nerves was how scientifically off it was. Now I am not trying to blame anyone, and I'm sure some compromises were necessary to make a feasible mod. But I can't help wondering, was there a better way?

Take the Milky Way Galaxy for instance. It is 100,000 light years across and 1000 light years in width, approximately. So, if each tile represents a cube 1000 x 1000 light years, then the galaxy could be represented on a 100 by 100 map, which is not impossible. Or map with 50 squares radiating on each axis from the supermassive black hole at the center, for which using Final Frontiers animated black hole would be cool.

But the whole star system concept is a no, based simply on scale. Truthfully, they are really miniscule dots on a galactic scale. Now the star system animation and the planet build system was awesome as well, don't get me wrong. I think it could still be used, if only it was confined to the star system view (city view only) if that is possible. If that can get worked into the civ programming, and I have no clue if it is, then my mod will work.