Broken Star - Is the AI too dumb?

I just started looking at the mods in Civ 4 so I started a game of broken star. I loved the mod nad quickly realized that I needed to kill some AI to get oil. I was so engrossed in doing this, however, that I didn't even notice how little the AI was doing. Only the yellow AI took any cities and his attack force was so lame that I DOW on him. So here I am with 5 or so captured cities and none of the AI have even attacked, much less aquired oil. :confused:

Is this typical? Is the AI extremely bad on broken star?

(I tried to post my save but I've never done it before so I'm not sure it will work)

Attachments

• Russia.CivBeyondSwordSave
    172.8 KB · Views: 131
Yeah, it's a known problem; I don't think the AI can handle modern warfare on such a large scale.

I usually end up bulldozing through with Mobile Artillery and Mech Infantry. Just tool up your land with Workers and you'll win.

I played Broken Star twice, once on accident. You know you've got a problem when a game's so easy, people don't bother playing it.

Broken Star needs the AI players to get aggressive in order to keep the rebels from dominating. I see little sign that they buy good units and build up a decent army. Instead, they mostly turtle within their borders, skirmishing a little, and build settlers.

Which, BTW, cost so much that it isn't, usually, worth building settlers at all, since you can just take rebel cities.