Challenge-XIX-09

So, I've never won a G-major, nor have I won a Noble game on BTS (I have on vanilla). Any advice for just getting the space colony first? Something really basic? I already see I should use willem or pacal (willem is my favorite since Catherine's traits changed in Warlords) but I'll investigate further on that. Also, what sort of things should I look for with mapfinder? I've never used that before.

PS. My only previous gauntlet win was a minor in 2008 (!) so I'll really need some help....

1. You want a financial trait and expansive or someone with extra healtbuildings.
2. Start must have food and gold/gems and rivers.
3. Grab maximum land (half the map), but after AI have cleared jungle for you.
4. Save some forest.
5. Either go for stateproperty or corps (mining and cereal mills on this map).
6. Read a strategy article about spacewins for the endgame.
7. Good luck and welcome back!

Last edited:
Thanks! I think I'm going Pacal for Ball Courts and bronzeless holkans, because 1) I often don't find bronze, 2) I find happiness to be a bigger problem than health on noble, and I usually beeline construction anyway after BW.

My first win back in vanilla was a space race so I think I will be more or less OK there, if I get a good start. I'm usually bad at war, but if I can settle fast and hit a few neighboring civs with my warrior(s)...

EDIT: Is there any way to save my custom game settings so I don't have to repick leaders every time, and how do I actually set up the map finder?

Last edited:
Sorry, this is the Terramap. I am mixing this with challenge #5 so forget about jungle and here is Sushi what counts. Also settle the New World early is good, lot of fat land and forests.