CiVGotm Ideas Thread

Knowtalent

Emperor
GOTM Staff
Good evening folks,
With the retirement of HammerRabbi, there will be a reduction of GotMs to 1 per month. The questions for you guys and gals.
Should I sprinkle in some games from the scenarios?
Should I keep moving thru the difficulty levels sequentially?
Should I do more lower level games and perhaps do one Immortal/Deity level every 4 months?
Would point based objectives be something to add in?
Should policy restrictions be the norm rather than the exception?

My opinion:
Should I sprinkle in some games from the scenarios? YES
Should I keep moving thru the difficulty levels sequentially? YES
Should I do more lower level games and perhaps do one Immortal/Deity level every 4 months? NO
Would point based objectives be something to add in? NO
Should policy restrictions be the norm rather than the exception? YES

I would suggest to start 1st day of the month - to have it simple.

Regarding difficulty levels: I am not good at the highest ones, I'd be happy if there are not too many of them (on the other hand, the ones training longer than I do surely also need a challenge)

Thanks for you work on the GoTM Knowtalent.
Sure.
Okay, but I think you should do a survey or ask a question about what is the lowest level that people actually are challenged by. I still do not understand the point of the Prince games. The assertion is that people are at all levels, and that new players can be competitive (or at least learn) from the lower levels. But that last bit is not true. The games are scored, and veterans are not precluded from playing the easy games. So new players are not competitive, and the veterans’ play style is such that they have no teaching utility to new players. My own opinion is that GoTM should pick a difficulty level for several many games in a row, and see how that works for folks.
Should I do more lower level games and perhaps do one Immortal/Deity level every 4 months?