How to tell what victory to expect from the AI

MKamp

Chieftain
Hi there,

I have only recently started learning this game in all seriousness. But I have yet to win a game on King so I guess I'm still a newbie.

My question is how to get a feel for what victory type the AI is pursuing. I know some civs are best for science like Babylon and some for conquest like Atilla. But I don't think that always means that they will want to win a specific game that way.

How can I tell, in my current game, what victory a certain civ is persuing? In my current king game which I am playing with Korea, I'm pretty sure I can get a science victory IF and only IF the AI doesn't beat me. And especially with diplomatic. I think this is always the most critical to know about, as that is the first victory that will just happen at a certain time.

Thank you!

This might help:

http://civdata.com

Is it updated? I dont know tbh.

If you are of the geek-race (like me), you can look in the folder

Contents/Home/Assets/Gameplay/XML/Leaders/*.xml
*one file pr leader

It has a degree of randomness though and has no value if you tick the "Random personality" box.

most AIs will just go for science victories since they're too slow at achieving any others, regardless of flavours in my experience

you probably don't ever have to worry about an AI winning a diplomatic victory unless alexander is in the game

Don’t the AI objectives change during the course of the game too? AFAIK, it is only with Ideology picks that the player can figure that one VC has be eliminated. But even an Autocracy AI will start building SS parts as the game goes long enough. I have only ever seen Alex win by Diplo. I have lost by CV and SV to many different AI. And, of course, lost my cap to any number of AI...