Please explain how do you play the game without mod?

zombie1305

Chieftain
Reading in many different forums I found there are large amount of players who do not use any mod at all. But how?

I understand that the AI is very hard to code but the vanilla AI is seriously unplayable because they are basically not working at all. And also by all means I am not pro at this game, I am a noob playing at emperor difficulty.

In my game yesterday, classical era, Assyria settle a new city very close to me and after 30-40 turns (epic pace) he declare war on me. OK game on! I am very exciting about this. By scouting, he has 4 melee units and 4 archer units. I only have 3 melee, a general but I have about 900 gold, so I am prepare to have gold spend for more military units if necessary. I am also planning to have my general convert into Citadel if things go out of hand, I am very very exciting about planning this defend tactic and how to deal with it. However, while his 4 melee units charge into my unit, the archers just stood there and do nothing even though they are in range of shooting. So with promotion upgrades and all that, my 3 melee finally killed their 4 melee, two of them are under 10hp. The AI can easily wipes my units out with one attack but, what these archers did is running around my units without shooting?!?! From this point on I feel gutted and am defeated of how stupid AI is so I deciding to throw the game, I delete my 3 melee and general. The Assyria also brought tons of melee reinforcement coming from his capital but they do not attack me at all. I even had a worker building improvement in a hexagon adjacent to one of his unit, no capture happening or anything. After just sit there and skip for 20 turns just watching AI units run back and forth, I just decide to quit the game, no point playing against a baby sitter like this.