Python Help - Get tech flavors

ww2commander

Emperor
Wondering if someone could help me with getting the tech flavor for a specific tech. I am new to python so if someone could provide the code necessary then it would be greatly appreciated.

I am trying to get a tech and then fogure out what the flavor type is. I want to then pass this flavor value against a case statement to do something.

The part I am stumped at is actually getting the flavor type for the tech. The function getFlavorValue(intI) expects a value rather than returning one so I am confused. :confused: How do I tell it to to return the value of a flavor assigned to a tech?

Ok...heres what I tried to do but it does not work. When I load the mod, it goes straight to a blank tech screen and the interface disappears...obviously a hint that the game does not like my changes :(

I am trying to set the colour of the tech box depending on the flavor type. The changes I have made in the CvTechChooser.py file are in red.

Code:
for i in range(gc.getNumTechInfos()):
        # Create and place a tech in its proper location
        iX = 30 + ( (gc.getTechInfo(i).getGridX() - 1) * ( ( BOX_INCREMENT_X_SPACING + BOX_INCREMENT_WIDTH ) * PIXEL_INCREMENT ) )
        iY = ( gc.getTechInfo(i).getGridY() - 1 ) * ( BOX_INCREMENT_Y_SPACING * PIXEL_INCREMENT ) + 5
        szTechRecord = "TechRecord" + str(i)

if ( iMaxX < iX + self.getXStart() ):
                iMaxX = iX + self.getXStart()
        if ( iMaxY < iY + ( BOX_INCREMENT_HEIGHT * PIXEL_INCREMENT ) ):
                iMaxY = iY + ( BOX_INCREMENT_HEIGHT * PIXEL_INCREMENT )

screen.attachPanelAt( "TechList", szTechRecord, u"", u"", True, False, PanelStyles.PANEL_STYLE_TECH, iX - 6, iY - 6, self.getXStart() + 6, 12 + ( BOX_INCREMENT_HEIGHT * PIXEL_INCREMENT ), WidgetTypes.WIDGET_TECH_TREE, i, -1 )
        screen.setActivation( szTechRecord, ActivationTypes.ACTIVATE_MIMICPARENTFOCUS)
        screen.hide( szTechRecord )