So rock of Gibraltar doesn't count as a mountain?

danaphanous

religious fanatic
I always thought every natural wonder but lake victoria did, but on my YNAEMP game as portugal I moved next to the rock thinking it would mean a sweet observatory capital later. But it won't let me build an observatory there now that I have the tech. My other mountain city can build one but not Lisbon next to the rock. Is this natural wonder bugged or something? It seems more like a mountain then many other kinds of natural wonders so I was a bit confused by this. Granted it is my first time settling next to it so I have no prior reference...can someone confirm? I can't find anything about the rock NOT counting as a mountain online when I google it which I'd expect so I was wondering if the YNAEMP map and I used disabled this feature.

From the Observatory entry on Civ5's wikia page:

"Bonus science building. Requires a mountain or a mountainous Natural Wonder (Mt. Fuji, Old Faithful, Cerro de Potosi, Mt. Kaliash, Mt. Sinai, Sri Pada, Uluru or Mt. Kilimanjaro) in the tile next to the city, inside your territory."​

Shouldn't there always be a mountain right next to rock of Gibraltar anyway?

Attachments

• Screen Shot 10-04-16 at 01.37 PM.JPG
    Screen Shot 10-04-16 at 01.37 PM.JPG
    1.3 MB · Views: 319
It is because of the small set of "mountains" I circled in the attached screenshot. Gibraltar in the game is a odd two-tile wonder -- only the Gibraltar tile gives the wonder tile yields, but it always spawns next to a fairly flat tile that looks like grasslands (usually) but is coded as a mountain. IIRC, you can settle next to that tile and be able to build the observatory (although it's been ages since I settled next to Gibraltar, so I won't swear to it).

Spoiler :
Gibraltar.jpg