Some specific Lua modding questions. How much access does it have to game internals?

Pazyryk

Deity
First, does anyone know if there are plans for anything like this fine site (the Apolyton python class reference), without which I don't know how I could have done any civ4 modding at all?

Now I have a long list of (seemingly) obscure questions that relate to a mod that I've been brewing up for the last 6 months. Most of these are things that I have done (or know that I could do) in Civ4 via python/xml modding without accessing the sdk. I just want to know whether the same will be possible now with Lua in civ5 or if I need to wait for the sdk. I'm not asking about Lua but about Lua's access to the game internals (and if it can do these things in theory, will there will be sufficient documentation or forum knowledge to make it do so). Please feel free to answer, drop hints as your conscience allows, or blow me off until Tuesday.
  1. Can I change a civilization's leader dynamically during a game (via Lua)?
  2. Can I change leader and/or civilization traits dynamically during a game?
  3. Can I change things like civilization name (the text string) during the game? Or civ color?
  4. Can I change the human player civ (for single player) during a game?
  5. Can my Lua code remember anything from one turn to the next or between saves? (Something I couldn't do in civ4 without the sdk or without some horrible kludge.) For example, my code may need to know whether Excalibur has been pulled from the stone yet (no, this is not really my mod). I don't want my code to have to search all tiles for it or some other nasty solution. I just want to be able to create (via Lua and/or XML) a variable of some sort where I can store this information.
  6. Do I have access to the popup interface and can I implement simple IO with the player (multiple choice selections or requests for short text input)?