[BERT] Station Quests - Hostile Takeover

vorlon_mi

Emperor
I had an unusual experience last night, and wanted to see if the community has more information about it.

In nearly every game, I get the "Hostile Takeover" quest - station A asks me to destroy station B, in return for more yields in my trade with them. Nothing unusual there; it may even happen every game. In every game, around turn 30 or so, I get a quest where I get a choice to approve a station landing near my territory: station X or station Y. I approve one of them and usually trade with it the whole game. It's close enough that I can include it in my orbital coverage and park a Station Sentinel satellite over it.

Last night, I approved "Far Base One" as my nearby, "pet" station. Later I started trading with Stet Mining as well, for the production yield. Along comes the "Hostile Takeover" quest, where Stet Mining asks me to destroy Far Base One. What? Destroy my pet? No way. I ignore the quest for 20 turns or so. My trade convoy to FB1 gets pillaged during a war. After that war ends, I build another convoy and resume trading with FB1, thus "failing" the quest.

Here's the unusual part: about 8-10 turns after I resume trading with Far Base One, a single Polystralian cruiser/gunboat sails up and takes a shot at it. No melee ships (yet), just softening it up. Hutama has been a pain the whole game, DOWing me earlier and trying to start a dogpile of DOWs against me. I declare on Polystralia, destroy his cruiser threatening FB1, and start sinking more of his fleet. I had sent a submarine up towards the northern ice cap, to sail under the ice and pick up any stray resource pods up there. On its way, my submarine spotted a sizeable Polystralian strike force (2 cruisers, 3 cutters) laying siege to ... yes, Stet Mining.

Questions:
  • Does anyone know if the AI players receive the same quests that the human player does, such as Hostile Takeover?