The process of "Unlearning"

Bleys

Deity
I hope this makes sense, because I am kind of struggling a bit.

I am a competent Civ IV:BTS player, but when a friend (not from these boards) told me about this MOD, I was hooked pretty quickly.

But now, I seem to be having trouble getting those "regular Civ IV" thoughts out of my head. Does that make sense? Can someone offer some tips on the main things about this MOD that you need to "unlearn"?

Pick a starting civ like the Grigori (without two many special mechanices), and just play a game or two. You should find that you get used to the Mod pretty easaly.
(Sorry for not beging more useful, I started playing last fall, and I barely remember the re-learning process.)

The first thing that I had to learn was that playing each civ is like a different game in itself. In civ4 and BtS essentually one strategy would work for most civs but Ffh was created to be more in depth and playable for much longer than vanilla civ. The learnig curve is very high so I hope that these tips will help.

-Start off with a simple civ on a low difficulty like the Bannor
-Focus more on Experienced units not new/more advanced units
-Promotions count way more in Ffh
-Don't ignore magic or divine, they can be a great help and the AI doesn't really understand them

Hope that this helps.

it takes some time to get used to the "new/different" early game in FFH, which can determine the rest of your game. Focus on eighter education or mystisicm early on (i prefer education) to get some additional science coming in. Start with a straightforward civ, like the grigori or the bannor, and try to read up a bit before starting a new civ (yes, every single one has different strategies).

Basically, in FFH you need to specialize. Don't aim on being good at everything, pick one route (preferably the one your current civ is best at), and aim on getting the optimum units in that tech line.