War Bad for AI?

ShunNakamura

Warlord
I have gotten to play . . . what? . . . 4 games so far(none finished because it became very obvious that I was going to win period).

2 were on Prince which was just too easy. 1 on King and 1 on Emperor. Particularly on King and Emperor(especially this one) I noticed a trend. I am losing horribly score wise, tech wise, culture wise, etc(basically I am about 2/3 down in everything). Then everyone and their great-great-3rd-removed-nephew declares war on me. 50 turns later I am in a runaway position(in the recent Emperor game though there is still a chance for those on the other continent to keep up, but still I went from dead last to decidedly first).

As a builder I do have smallish military most of the time(1 archer or siege per city and some 'rush units' to run to reinforce wherever that may be. What unit I use for reinforce varies from game to game). However, even with a crippled military I can generally fend off 4 AI's at once without issue(even more so if they are fighting each other like usual). And every-time I come out on top with a huge lead. In Emperor I even refrained from taking cities and the same occurred(though it is closer at least). The AI just cripples itself when focusing on military domination. It can defend itself well enough due to the strength of cities and all, but it really can't do squat on the offensive.

So I just have to wonder if the 'all war' state of mind of the AI is actually preventing it from winning while also annoying people who would rather not play an always at war game.