Cooking for the recent graduate

You're English, you can't post in a cooking thread.

I'm English and I'd say I was a good cook! You haven't tried my home-made banana bread...

Are you joking brah? It was great all the cafes and stores surrounding campus would accept meal swipes as legit $$ I think it was worth $7.50 and I had 210 meal swipes.

Meal swipe? Whats that?

Anyways perhaps theres a cultural difference here, Americans eat out more, and I'm not saying thats a bad thing. Eating out is more affordable over there. I get it.

But still the premise of this thread is still "how do I buy groceries and cook for myself", which strikes me as odd for someone who is 21+ years old. I appreciate that its always good to get tips, and this thread is fantastic for that so yeah ignore my ranting.

Meal swipe? Whats that?

Anyways perhaps theres a cultural difference here, Americans eat out more, and I'm not saying thats a bad thing. Eating out is more affordable over there. I get it.

But still the premise of this thread is still "how do I buy groceries and cook for myself", which strikes me as odd for someone who is 21+ years old. I appreciate that its always good to get tips, and this thread is fantastic for that so yeah ignore my ranting.

Undergrad universities in the US have dining halls for their students, you buy a meal plan for each semester with a certain number of meals which you swipe with your id card to use:

Resident students can choose from specific meal plan options based upon their year and where they live on campus. Commuter students, faculty and staff can also choose from various plan options. See the chart below for details.

"UNLIMITED DINING" PLANS