What to do with a captured Great Prophet?

Fanny Brice

Prince
I'm new to G&K so I'm a bit lost with religion in general.

I captured a Great Prophet wandering through a combat zone.

I believe I did this in my last game... it might have just been a missionary last game. And I was shocked when I went to use him he spread the religion of my enemy! Did not expect that.

So, this great prophet is identified as being from another religion when the mouse is hovered over him. I assume if I use him to spread the faith he will spread the faith of my enemy. What happens if I use him to make a shrine? Is that also going spread an opposing religion? Or will that simply be faith that I get out of it?

Any basic tips on religion would be appreciated.

thanks

He will spread the religion of the enemy. Missionaries, prophets, and inquisitors will follow the majority religion of the city they are built in. For this reason, if someone prophet-bombs your Holy City, don't buy an inquisitor and then use him on your city. Use one from another city following your religion.

Making a Holy Site works no matter what religion he belongs to, but if he's used at least one of his Spread Religion uses, then you can't do that. If you are Sweden, you can gift him to a city-state. Otherwise, delete him.

Check out what benefits you could reap from the religion the prophet belongs. Imagine capturing a Byzantium prophet that has loads of religious buildings you could build in your cities!! Or perhaps you could benefit in other ways... say for instance you need some extra units quick and the prophet would allow you purchase these with your faith. You could always convert the city back

He will spread the religion of the enemy. Missionaries, prophets, and inquisitors will follow the majority religion of the city they are built in. For this reason, if someone prophet-bombs your Holy City, don't buy an inquisitor and then use him on your city. Use one from another city following your religion.