Late game strategic resources

saamohod

Deity
I've just been browsing through the information era units and noticed that none of them uses Oil, just Aluminum or Uranium. Mechanized Infantry and Missile Cruiser don't require any resource at all. Does it mean that Oil is useless in late game? Not to mention Iron, which gets outdated after middle game.
I'm new to Civ 5, but have been playing Civ 4 for years. In Civ 4 you can utilize any resource via Corporations, therefore none of the strategic resources loses its value throughout the game.
Is there any use of outdated strategic resources in Civ 5?

On Oil it's still needed in Information age:

1. Stealth is on the last row of techs and in fact the game is often over before researching it because you've already won.

2. When not going for conquest victory, the tech allowing modern armor is low priority as well.

3. Battleships don't upgrade to anything and so still need Oil

Coal's main use is Factories. It's only for a limited time that you also use it for units.

Iron's first use is the main foot solider line. It's no longer needed for that line about the same time you need it for Frigates. Yes, after the last Frigate is upgraded to a Battleship you'll no longer need Iron, but can continue to sell to the AI until they get past a certain point.

Horses become no longer needed as soon as the Calvary are upgraded to Landships and the Lancers to Anti Tank. After that you can sell to the AI until they get past a certain point.

I really wish the developers make strategic resources a bit more deep. For example, coal should be required in factory all the time in order for the building to function. As of now, you can buy coals from another Civ, build factories, then when the deal is over, you are at minus coals but there isn't a penalty like how military units receive.

I think it would be nice these buildings have slots for strategic resources. Coal for factory, aluminum for hydro plant, uranium for nuclear plant.