Is it a bad idea to play peaceful on emperor? Good idea to war early and war often?

Artifex1

Warlord
I am new to BNW emperor and see that other civs runaway when i play peaceful. Do I need to war early and war often on emperor level and up? No matter what civ?

I don't think war is necessary. The player can usually take the tech lead in almost any difficulty, and then it's at the least an easy science win. I think culture is harder because you want to be ahead by archeology so you can mine some good artifacts since you're not collecting them from conquest. If there is a runaway civ, you might need to focus on diplomacy and getting all his/her neighbors to hate them faster and help motivate them to war each other through bribes.

If you're just looking at land area and calling that AI a runway; that's not enough to make that call. Check the Demographic screen; if you are #1 in science, you are perfectly fine.

War imo is an effective defense against a runaway, whether you join in or not. If you work on your diplomacy as paralistalon has suggested you will be able to have most of the world DOW a runaway, or a potential runaway. Don't let DOFs fool you as this means nothing to the AI, it is possible to bribe an AI civ to DOW a civ they have a DOF with.

In saying that it should be you that is the runaway as you don't have to concentrate on building units. If you are the tech leader most AI civs will want a RA with you and thus they will offer a DOF.

I don't think war is necessary. The player can usually take the tech lead in almost any difficulty, and then it's at the least an easy science win. I think culture is harder because you want to be ahead by archeology so you can mine some good artifacts since you're not collecting them from conquest. If there is a runaway civ, you might need to focus on diplomacy and getting all his/her neighbors to hate them faster and help motivate them to war each other through bribes.