Modding Civ V

KommunistKyle

Chieftain
Hey all, I'm new to the whole modding community. Whilst I'd like to create a mod, my lack of LUA and scripting knowledge dictates that this is impossible with my understanding of the whole thing (Which is basically zero). Is there anyone out there who could help me out? I'm not asking you to make the mod for me, just to direct me on how to do it myself. Anything helps! Thanks!

Best way is to jump right in... I started from scratch not too long ago.

Choose a task... what do you want to do? Then learn the necessary skill set.

For example:

Task... I want to create a civilization.

Look at other mods that add civilizations. Look at Firaxis civilizations. Read the tutorials. You can do it without lua... just xml.

Get that working. Then tinker... want to change the artwork? There are tutorials for that. Try. Not working? Ask the forums for advice.

Pretty soon, you're new civ starts to look pretty good.

Next, tackle some other short term task. Maybe change the trait of your civ using lua. Again, check out the mods for examples of what you want to achieve. After a while, you'll learn enough to make a convincing lua based trait.

Anyhow, the skills do not arrive all at once. Learn and do incrementally. There are many examples out there (and growing in number) and some very useful tutorials to learn basic tasks.

Good luck and happy modding.

I'm no good at tutorials, but if you read Kael's modding guide, it should help you a lot.

However, the guide IS outdated, so you'll need to find out some stuff on your own (or by asking more competent people than me). If you want to make new civs, the easiest way IMO is by editing these files to suit your needs.