Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center  

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Colonization > Civ4Col - Creation & Customization > Civ4Col - Project & Mod Development > Religion and Revolution

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Dec 22, 2011, 10:52 AM   #1
raystuttgart
Civ4Col Modder
 
raystuttgart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 4,146
[Religion and Revolution]: Internal Blackboard

Hi guys,

I open this little thread to organize internal help requests inside the team and with our partners.

No need to hurry.
(I am currently just collecting.)

Last edited by raystuttgart; Mar 30, 2013 at 07:04 AM.
raystuttgart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2011, 10:55 AM   #2
raystuttgart
Civ4Col Modder
 
raystuttgart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 4,146
I would really like to give Bonus-Ressource Cocoa its own Improvement.

Currently Lodge (usually for Wood) is used here, too.
I really do not like that very much.

So

1) Anybody have a good name for that Improvement ?
(I am not sure if "Cocoa Plantation" really fits. )

2) Anybody know good graphics for that Improvement or would like to create some.
(Anything inside the Preview is already used for other improvements ...)
raystuttgart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2011, 01:17 PM   #3
Gomer_Pyle
Prince
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 354
Why shouldnt it fit? I think it works great. And I think the current improvement of a plantation works great too. My vote is dont change any of it.
Gomer_Pyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2011, 02:06 PM   #4
raystuttgart
Civ4Col Modder
 
raystuttgart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 4,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gomer_Pyle View Post
Why shouldnt it fit?
You really like that Lodge is the improvement that increases Cocoa ?
Not very atmospheric to me ...

I would really like to have:

Lodge -> Increase Wood
Fur Trappers House -> Increase Fur <- This we already have (in Preview)
"Cocoa Improvement" -> Increase Cocoa (Acutally this was on the list for TAC 2.02c but will not be done in TAC anymore.)
raystuttgart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2011, 02:49 PM   #5
Androrc the Orc
Emperor
 
Androrc the Orc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 1,583
I think having a"Cocoa Plantation" is the best option. And I agree that each improvement should have unique graphics, to keep the high quality of the mod, and for players to be able to tell what a improvement is at a glance.
Androrc the Orc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2011, 03:12 PM   #6
raystuttgart
Civ4Col Modder
 
raystuttgart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 4,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Androrc the Orc View Post
I think having a"Cocoa Plantation" is the best option. And I agree that each improvement should have unique graphics, to keep the high quality of the mod, and for players to be able to tell what a improvement is at a glance.
Just to prevent confuison.
(This is not about graphics only.)

In TAC there is only one Improvement for 3 Yield-Increases:

Lodge -> Yield-Increase Wood, Yield-Increase Fur, Yield-Increase Cocoa

I want to change that to:

Lodge -> Yield-Increase Wood
Trapper's House -> Yield-Increase Fur
Cocoa Plantation -> Yield-Increase Cocoa

My main reason:
It is more atmospheric.
raystuttgart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2011, 04:04 PM   #7
Gomer_Pyle
Prince
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 354
Yeah I agree. Wasnt Lodge I wanted it was Cocoa Plantation. But I ment no need to change name of it.
Gomer_Pyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2011, 04:10 PM   #8
raystuttgart
Civ4Col Modder
 
raystuttgart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 4,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gomer_Pyle View Post
Yeah I agree. Wasnt Lodge I wanted it was Cocoa Plantation. But I ment no need to change name of it.
Great, then we agree.

But Androrc is right:
We should do a new Improvement (with new graphics) here.

Cocoa is on Jungle.
(Plantations are on Flatlands.)
raystuttgart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2011, 04:34 PM   #9
colonialfan
Warlord
 
colonialfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 287
Although not grown on flatlands like most other plantaion crops, but instead in small jungle areas primarily around the equator, Cocoa plantation, is strangely the right terminology. The only other substitute we could use is Cocoa farm, but since we have, Cotton, Tobacco, Sugar and Indigo plantations, I think it makes sense to stick with Androrc's suggestion of Cocoa plantation.
colonialfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2011, 04:38 PM   #10
raystuttgart
Civ4Col Modder
 
raystuttgart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 4,146
Ok, then we will take "Cocoa Plantation" as name.

We still need to get graphics then.

But let us wait with that until KJ is back.
(Eventually he is interested to create something here. )
raystuttgart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2011, 12:59 AM   #11
KJ Jansson
Prince
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 509
Quote:
Originally Posted by raystuttgart View Post
I would really like to give Bonus-Ressource Cocoa its own Improvement.

Currently Lodge (usually for Wood) is used here, too.
I really do not like that very much.

So

1) Anybody have a good name for that Improvement ?
(I am not sure if "Cocoa Plantation" really fits. )

2) Anybody know good graphics for that Improvement or would like to create some.
(Anything inside the Preview is already used for other improvements ...)
I installed TAC 2.02c to understand the problem. Really, our Pioneer has a rather limited variants for Cocoa-bonus tile.

He can Build Plantation, but we lost Cocoa (-5 Cocoa).



He can Build Lodge and we have +2 Cocoa.



Finally we have a Lodge on Cocoa-bonus tile.



And here we can see the problem reported by Ray: "Lodge (usually for Wood) is used here".

Well, this is very strange for me, too. I expected to see here or "Cocoa Plantation", or at least just an usual "Plantation", but of course not "Lodge".

This error is very easy to fix.

In CIV4ImprovementInfos.xml remove

Code:
    <YieldIntegerPair>
     <YieldType>YIELD_COCOA</YieldType>
     <iValue>2</iValue>
    </YieldIntegerPair>
from <Type>IMPROVEMENT_LODGE</Type> section and add the same codes

Code:
    <YieldIntegerPair>
     <YieldType>YIELD_COCOA</YieldType>
     <iValue>2</iValue>
    </YieldIntegerPair>
in <Type>IMPROVEMENT_PLANTATION</Type> section. As result you will need to Build Plantition to get full access to Cocoa. Then you will see an usual Plantation building on Cocoa-bonus tile.

Of course, in such variant this action button should be corrected



This is simpliest and fastest way to correct this error. However,

Quote:
Originally Posted by raystuttgart View Post
Just to prevent confuison.
(This is not about graphics only.)

In TAC there is only one Improvement for 3 Yield-Increases:

Lodge -> Yield-Increase Wood, Yield-Increase Fur, Yield-Increase Cocoa

I want to change that to:

Lodge -> Yield-Increase Wood
Trapper's House -> Yield-Increase Fur
Cocoa Plantation -> Yield-Increase Cocoa

My main reason:
It is more atmospheric.
and here I fully agree with Ray. Cocoa requires a special improvement as "Cocoa Plantation".

Moreover, to my opinion each bonus requires a special improvement with the particular graphics.

I'm very sorry for off-topic, but let me explain how I organize the improvements in "1492: Global Colonization" mod. Unfortunately, Cocoa improvement is not ready yet, therefore I will use Honey-bonus tile as example.

I have a Honey-bonus on the tile.



My Pioneer can "Build Bee Hive" on Honey-bonus tile.



"Bee Hive" is a 1st level improvement. When "Bee Hive"is ready and a unit is working on this tile, the improvement can grow up to "Apiary".



After a number of turns I have "Apiary" as a 2nd level (final) improvement on Honey-bonus tile.



As you see, I can adjust the goods produced by my improvements: +2 Sugar for Bee Hive and -4 Sugar/+4 Alcohol for "Apiary" (details, see here and here)

Here I presented two level improvements. For Cocoa, I guess, only one level improvement is required. Cocoa-bonus => Cocoa Plantation.

When Cocoa Plantation will be ready in "1492: GC" mod, I will share it for everybody, including of course, "Religion and Revolution" and TAC mods. At the moment I have couple variants of Cocoa Plantation building, however both of them are not ideal for me.

Last edited by KJ Jansson; Dec 23, 2011 at 02:06 AM.
KJ Jansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2011, 02:08 AM   #12
raystuttgart
Civ4Col Modder
 
raystuttgart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 4,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJ Jansson View Post
When Cocoa Plantation will be ready in "1492: GC" mod, I will share it for everybody, including of course, "Religion and Revolution" and TAC mods.
Great.

I would also be very interested to see your other Improvements.
(You could create an extra Thread here for that.)

We will need a lot of Improvement-graphics for Growing Improvements later on.
raystuttgart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2011, 10:14 AM   #13
KJ Jansson
Prince
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 509
Quote:
Originally Posted by raystuttgart View Post
I would really like to give Bonus-Ressource Cocoa its own Improvement.

Currently Lodge (usually for Wood) is used here, too.
I really do not like that very much.

So

1) Anybody have a good name for that Improvement ?
(I am not sure if "Cocoa Plantation" really fits. )
One of very draft variants of Cocoa Plantation (Cocoa trees + Plantation)

KJ Jansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2011, 10:32 AM   #14
raystuttgart
Civ4Col Modder
 
raystuttgart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 4,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJ Jansson View Post
One of very draft variants of Cocoa Plantation (Cocoa trees + Plantation)
Looks fantastic.

But how does it look on Jungle (with and without Bonus Cocoa) ?
raystuttgart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2011, 10:56 AM   #15
KJ Jansson
Prince
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 509
Quote:
Originally Posted by raystuttgart View Post
Looks fantastic.

But how does it look on Jungle (with and without Bonus Cocoa) ?
Sorry, I don't understand your question.

Cocoa Plantation can build only on Cocoa-bonus tile. Thus, this image corresponds to Cocoa Plantation with Bonus Cocoa.

Really, we can find Cocoa in Jungle, but inside the Cocoa_Plantation.nif file there is a "CutTree" section. Thus, all present trees are removed from this tile if Cocoa Plantation is build.
KJ Jansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2011, 12:10 PM   #16
raystuttgart
Civ4Col Modder
 
raystuttgart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 4,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJ Jansson View Post
Cocoa Plantation can build only on Cocoa-bonus tile.
Yield Cocoa is available on Mash-Tiles with Jungle.
(Bonus Cocoa simply increases output of Yield Cocoa.)

Thus this new Improvement will be built on Jungle (with and without Bonus-Resource Cocoa).
raystuttgart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2011, 12:40 PM   #17
Robert Surcouf
Civ4Col Modder
 
Robert Surcouf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: France
Posts: 665
Hi everyone, I'm back!
I like the cocoa plantation idea.

I've seen TAC v2.02d has been released. I'll probably edit CvGameTextMgr.cpp for my no more variables hidden feature (probably on Monday). Is that ok?
__________________
Religion and Revolution

Last edited by Robert Surcouf; Dec 23, 2011 at 12:44 PM.
Robert Surcouf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2011, 02:29 AM   #18
raystuttgart
Civ4Col Modder
 
raystuttgart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 4,146
Hi guys,

I could need some help again.

I need graphics for our respawning Goody-Huts.
(Part of our "More Variation with Goody-Huts" concept.)

1. for Land -> something like a small camp or a campfire.
2. for Water -> something like parts of a sunken ship (some wood / planks, a barrel, some rope), but not looking like a complete ship.

To summarize the idea:

These new Goody-Huts will not be on map at beginning of game.
However they will be spawned from time to time on map. (Land and Water.)
Thus it will be interesting to keep Scouting the map througout the whole game.

Please help with the graphics.

Last edited by raystuttgart; Dec 30, 2011 at 02:34 AM.
raystuttgart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2011, 02:09 PM   #19
KJ Jansson
Prince
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 509
Quote:
Originally Posted by raystuttgart View Post
Hi guys,

I could need some help again.

I need graphics for our respawning Goody-Huts.
(Part of our "More Variation with Goody-Huts" concept.)

1. for Land -> something like a small camp or a campfire.
2. for Water -> something like parts of a sunken ship (some wood / planks, a barrel, some rope), but not looking like a complete ship.

To summarize the idea:

These new Goody-Huts will not be on map at beginning of game.
However they will be spawned from time to time on map. (Land and Water.)
Thus it will be interesting to keep Scouting the map througout the whole game.

Please help with the graphics.
As a small camp we can use, for instance, one of these models



or



I also found a "Shipwreck".



Unfortunately at the moment I can show all images only in Nifscope because I have no access to my game PC.
KJ Jansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2011, 01:42 AM   #20
raystuttgart
Civ4Col Modder
 
raystuttgart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 4,146


The camps look a little too big, I would rather have something more simple / smaller.
(Something a lost Colonist, lost Missionary or wounded Native would create.)

For the "respawning Goody Hut on Water" I would rather have something more neutral that is less looking like a complete ship.
(More like parts of a sunken ship: some wood / planks, a barrel, some rope)

Last edited by raystuttgart; Dec 31, 2011 at 03:06 AM.
raystuttgart is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Colonization > Civ4Col - Creation & Customization > Civ4Col - Project & Mod Development > Religion and Revolution > [Religion and Revolution]: Internal Blackboard

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR