Advertisement
Civilization Fanatics' Center

Go Back   Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Colonization > Civ4Col - Creation & Customization > Civ4Col - Project & Mod Development > Religion and Revolution

Notices

Religion and Revolution Forum for the Religion and Revolution mod.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Aug 17, 2014, 10:31 AM   #1
vetiarvind
Warlord
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Chennai, India
Posts: 215
Contributions from community - Feedbacks, ideas, bugs

Hi, This is a thread created in order to supplement the existing "Contributions From Community" thread. Since the other thread is simply meant to contain a list of mod-mod "publish" posts for easy searching, I felt the need to create a new one in order to have all discussions related to those mod-mods in one place. This is as per raystuttgart's suggestion in that thread.

So please, let's just quote and give feedbacks right here!

P.S
This thread is redundant if mod-modders create their own threads, but often many mods are not created in their own thread. This would be a good place to discuss such miscellaneous mods.

Last edited by vetiarvind; Aug 17, 2014 at 11:51 AM.
vetiarvind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2014, 10:42 AM   #2
vetiarvind
Warlord
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Chennai, India
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schmiddie View Post
Could you please update this changes also in the current SVN version?
Already did it!
As well as updated the download links in version 2:

Quote:
Originally Posted by vetiarvind View Post
TAXES AND NAVIGATION 2

Download:
Taxes and navigation 2 for R&R (~5MB)
and version 1:

Quote:
Originally Posted by vetiarvind View Post
vetiarvind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2014, 11:38 AM   #3
vetiarvind
Warlord
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Chennai, India
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by agnat86 View Post
I will be adding four new native nations to my modmod soon (I will publish them after RaR2.2 gets out).
Looks amazing! Nice work. My only question is: Is the Haida missing a torso texture or is the black colour a war-paint they used?
vetiarvind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2014, 01:00 PM   #4
agnat86
Warlord
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by vetiarvind View Post
Looks amazing! Nice work. My only question is: Is the Haida missing a torso texture or is the black colour a war-paint they used?
They are supposed to be black. Haida art primarily uses black, red and white, which is why I focused on those three colors when designing their units.
agnat86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2014, 01:07 PM   #5
vetiarvind
Warlord
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Chennai, India
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by agnat86 View Post
They are supposed to be black. Haida art primarily uses black, red and white, which is why I focused on those three colors when designing their units.
Lol ok! Maybe it needs some more *shine*? Sorry, but I was reminded of a skyrim mod where textures wouldn't show and it looked a bit similar.

Although haida clothes have a red vertical center line from what i saw on google.

(p.s don't really take much info from me reg. graphics, I don't know much about it)
vetiarvind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2014, 01:11 PM   #6
agnat86
Warlord
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by vetiarvind View Post
Lol ok! Maybe it needs some more *shine*? Sorry, but I was reminded of a skyrim mod where textures wouldn't show and it looked a bit similar. (p.s don't really take much info from me reg. graphics, I don't know much about it)
Neither do I.
That is why it will take some time for me to make things "shiny," as I still have to learn how to do most things.
agnat86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2014, 01:20 PM   #7
agnat86
Warlord
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 211
I have another bug I would like to see solved.

Sometimes, when founding a colony near a native village, you anger the natives by inadvertently stealing their land, although the plots in question are not shown as their land before you found the colony.

Here you can see an expert Farmer about to found a colony. I float my cursor above the lower left, upper left and upper right plots, and you can see no one claims those plots:

Spoiler:






However, after I have founded my colony, the Incas suddenly claim those three plots, and get angry. I never got an opportunity to buy their land:

Spoiler:







Does any of you know what might cause this? I know you can anger natives by building on land that previously belonged to them, for example next to ruined villages of them. But that is not the case here.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Civ4ScreenShot4371.JPG
Views:	257
Size:	324.3 KB
ID:	380949   Click image for larger version

Name:	Civ4ScreenShot4372.JPG
Views:	252
Size:	325.3 KB
ID:	380950   Click image for larger version

Name:	Civ4ScreenShot4373.JPG
Views:	260
Size:	346.5 KB
ID:	380951   Click image for larger version

Name:	Civ4ScreenShot4374.JPG
Views:	257
Size:	347.6 KB
ID:	380952   Click image for larger version

Name:	Civ4ScreenShot4375.JPG
Views:	256
Size:	347.1 KB
ID:	380953  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Civ4ScreenShot4376.JPG
Views:	255
Size:	325.1 KB
ID:	380954  
agnat86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2014, 01:26 PM   #8
vetiarvind
Warlord
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Chennai, India
Posts: 215
^ Do you have a saved game? I assume this is R&R2.1+your submod only?

Also, I don't see anything in your dll code that points to this issue. Perhaps this needs to be reposted in the main "bugs" thread?

Last edited by vetiarvind; Aug 17, 2014 at 01:34 PM.
vetiarvind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2014, 01:46 PM   #9
ADHansa
Warlord
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 127
deleted

Last edited by ADHansa; Aug 17, 2014 at 01:59 PM.
ADHansa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2014, 01:54 PM   #10
Commander Bello
Say No 2 Net Validations
 
Commander Bello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: near Koblenz, Germany
Posts: 3,728
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADHansa View Post
Sometimes native cultural borders extend more than 1 space in asymtric way. It shows at the culture view in the strategic view.
Right, but he stated that he had checked for the tiles to be owned or not:
Quote:
Originally Posted by agnat86 View Post
Here you can see an expert Farmer about to found a colony. I float my cursor above the lower left, upper left and upper right plots, and you can see no one claims those plots:
__________________
"It is from their critics, not their fanbois, that companies learn the lesson of making good software...." Aristophanes Bello

Civ4:Colonization
[Modmod] CB-Mod for RaR
Version 0.7.046 for RaR 2.0 available (04-JUN-2014)
(update is work in process)
Commander Bello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2014, 01:58 PM   #11
agnat86
Warlord
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by vetiarvind View Post
^ Do you have a saved game? I assume this is R&R2.1+your submod only?

Also, I don't see anything in your dll code that points to this issue. Perhaps this needs to be reposted in the main "bugs" thread?
You are right. I have reposted it in the Bugs thread of the main mod.
agnat86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2014, 06:40 AM   #12
vetiarvind
Warlord
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Chennai, India
Posts: 215
Hey agnat86, just wondering - would it be possible to break up your large modmod into smaller pieces? Say, for FF, traits, natives etc? Then people and mod-integrators will be able to more easily take the ideas they like. Creating a large modmod invariably means that it becomes an all-or-nothing scenario. Also it would make it easier for Schmiddie to incorporate some of your ideas into R&R. My suggestion is based on how modders publish in other games. Although i understand if you don't have the time for this.

Last edited by vetiarvind; Aug 19, 2014 at 06:46 AM.
vetiarvind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2014, 06:15 AM   #13
agnat86
Warlord
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by vetiarvind View Post
Hey agnat86, just wondering - would it be possible to break up your large modmod into smaller pieces? Say, for FF, traits, natives etc? Then people and mod-integrators will be able to more easily take the ideas they like. Creating a large modmod invariably means that it becomes an all-or-nothing scenario. Also it would make it easier for Schmiddie to incorporate some of your ideas into R&R. My suggestion is based on how modders publish in other games. Although i understand if you don't have the time for this.
I'm afraid I'm not going to do that. You see, most of these changes I've made some time ago, and they often depend on each other functionally, and are balanced out against one another, and it would be extremely tedious and time-consuming work to separate a singular feature from the rest, let alone do it for each one of them.
For example, I've created several new XML tags that appear in every entry in a specific XML file. If I would take them apart, then for every separate feature I would have to delete all other new XML tags, for every entry there is.

And that just is too much trouble, I'm afraid.

So if anyone wants to use only a part of my stuff, then he will have to do the separation work himself. I always try to add comments to everything I add in DLL at least, so these things usually should be easy to find.
But obviously, I advise to just use the entire package, as I always do a lot of playtesting, so my changes are relatively well optimized both for balance and gameplay fun.
agnat86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2014, 06:17 AM   #14
agnat86
Warlord
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 211
I think I will be going to add two more Map Sizes to the game. Currently, the difference between Huge and Gigantic is very big, and I already got feedback from people who found Huge too small and Gigantic too big.

So my plan is to create two new map sizes, Massive and Enormous, between Huge and Gigantic.
agnat86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2014, 06:34 AM   #15
Commander Bello
Say No 2 Net Validations
 
Commander Bello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: near Koblenz, Germany
Posts: 3,728
Quote:
Originally Posted by agnat86 View Post
So my plan is to create two new map sizes, Massive and Enormous, between Huge and Gigantic.
Sounds like a good idea
__________________
"It is from their critics, not their fanbois, that companies learn the lesson of making good software...." Aristophanes Bello

Civ4:Colonization
[Modmod] CB-Mod for RaR
Version 0.7.046 for RaR 2.0 available (04-JUN-2014)
(update is work in process)
Commander Bello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2014, 08:13 AM   #16
Schmiddie
King
 
Schmiddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 903
Quote:
Originally Posted by agnat86 View Post
I think I will be going to add two more Map Sizes to the game. Currently, the difference between Huge and Gigantic is very big, and I already got feedback from people who found Huge too small and Gigantic too big.

So my plan is to create two new map sizes, Massive and Enormous, between Huge and Gigantic.
Yes, a very good idea! A map size between huge and gigantic seems to be nice. Gigantic is a nice map size but the KI does not use its capacity...and in the late game the Performance for some player is getting worse so that a new mapsize a little bit smaller than gigantic would be fine!
__________________
Modder and Member of the Religion and Revolution Team
Schmiddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2014, 08:44 AM   #17
agnat86
Warlord
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 211
I've made the new mapsizes. If Schmiddie wants me to, I can also add them to the main mod.

One strange thing though.
The graphical bug that makes the northern part of the map black if you zoom out too far, which only happened on gigantic maps, also occurs my two new mapsizes. However, the black part is just as big as it is on a gigantic map, and it is the visible southern part that becomes very small. This screenshot is from a "massive" map, and only a small strip near the south pole is visible:

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Civ4ScreenShot4397.JPG
Views:	67
Size:	126.6 KB
ID:	381338  
agnat86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2014, 09:00 AM   #18
vetiarvind
Warlord
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Chennai, India
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by agnat86 View Post
So if anyone wants to use only a part of my stuff, then he will have to do the separation work himself. I always try to add comments to everything I add in DLL at least, so these things usually should be easy to find.
But obviously, I advise to just use the entire package, as I always do a lot of playtesting, so my changes are relatively well optimized both for balance and gameplay fun.
Sure, I understand. Also, nice idea with the map-size. Even one intermediary would be cool. Also, will they have the same number of players as either huge or gigantic or will that also be balanced?
vetiarvind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2014, 09:09 AM   #19
agnat86
Warlord
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by vetiarvind View Post
Sure, I understand. Also, nice idea with the map-size. Even one intermediary would be cool. Also, will they have the same number of players as either huge or gigantic or will that also be balanced?
They will all have eight European players, but for the natives, I have made the numbers of players intermediate between huge and gigantic, which means, I put them at 1/3rd of the difference for Massive size, and at 2/3rds for Enormous size. From the top of my head, I believe 12 natives on huge, 20 on massive, 28 on enormous, and 35 on gigantic (with the four nations I added plus Schmiddie's addition of the Nez Perce, the total number will be 35).

I have balanced all other things (map length and width, target number of cities) the same way.
agnat86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2014, 12:54 PM   #20
Androrc the Orc
Emperor
 
Androrc the Orc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 1,594
Quote:
Originally Posted by agnat86 View Post
I've made the new mapsizes. If Schmiddie wants me to, I can also add them to the main mod.

One strange thing though.
The graphical bug that makes the northern part of the map black if you zoom out too far, which only happened on gigantic maps, also occurs my two new mapsizes. However, the black part is just as big as it is on a gigantic map, and it is the visible southern part that becomes very small. This screenshot is from a "massive" map, and only a small strip near the south pole is visible:
I would try making all the settings except for the map width and height equal for gigantic and normal map sizes, in order to see if the problem lies with the map's physical size or with some other setting associated with gigantic maps (i.e. number of civs).
__________________
Wyrmsun
Androrc the Orc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back Civilization Fanatics' Forums > CIVILIZATION IV > Civ4 - Colonization > Civ4Col - Creation & Customization > Civ4Col - Project & Mod Development > Religion and Revolution > Contributions from community - Feedbacks, ideas, bugs

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Advertisement

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This site is copyright Civilization Fanatics' Center.
Support CFC: Amazon.com | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon CA | Amazon FR