A few short(ish) questions about FFH2 mechanics

ToastedHCL

Always modded, never vanilla
Hey guys,

I just started playing FFH2 a few weeks ago and am absolutely loving it. However, there are a few things that I'm pretty confused about. I should mentioned that I'm playing the modmod Extramodmod continued 0.6.0-beta8. I did try going through the changelogs for the modmods it combines (EITB and MNAI) but didn't see anything that would affect my questions, although I could have missed something. If anyone could give me some answers on any of following, that would be great.

1. My rust spell says "can be resisted (+20%)". This obviously seems like it's indicating that there's an 80% chance of the spell working and a 20% chance of failure. However, it doesn't seem to be working nearly that frequently sometimes. I was trying to use it on a stack of Pyre Zombies and it seemed to only affect a few at once, which was far fewer than 80% of course. Also, I tried using it on an enemy Bambur about 6-7 times and it never worked on him. He did have magic resistance but that shouldn't make him immune to this right? Is this all attributable to simple bad rng? I should also mentioned that I'm playing as the Amurites (so I have the potency promotion) with 2 metamagic sources, so that should be another -30% chance in total for my spells to be resisted.

2. How did my enemy's Bambur get a medic promotion? I thought that only disciple units could get medic? On a similar note, why didn't the enemy Bambur get diseased when I attacked him with my diseased corpse? The odds were very bad on that attacked (7 vs 16.5 or something like that) to be fair, so maybe it was because the diseased corpse never got to hit him before he died?