a missed opportunity

globosud

Warlord
I've been playing Civ 4 for many years now, the absurd thing is that I noticed that all the mods have so many additions that the A.I. practically at the end of the game goes crazy, and almost destroys himself. It's a shame because Civ 4 really allows to do anything with modding. I don't understand why all the mods instead of helping the A.I. to make no mistake, they practically do the opposite, for example forcing to use forts in certain positions, forcing them to build cities in strategic points, forcing them to defend their cities, forcing them to follow technology paths depending on their bonuses , instead I see even the best mods, where you see work boats used to explore, catapults that wander around the maps by themselves and more. I wonder why create hundreds of technologies, or civic, or armaments if then the A.I. don't understand its usefulness? So I was wondering is there a mod, where the A.I. Is being forced to use the things in the right way, through phyton or something else?
unfortunately the a.i. no, doesn't know how to make the right choices, so must be forced
if you think about it, the old mods were more balanced, the search for complexity even ruined mods that were almost perfect before. Sorry for my bad english.

Hey globosud! The mod that springs to mind right away is the Better BAT AI Mod, by Lemon Merchant. Its whole goal is making the AI better, and it builds on a previous mod that also sought to make the AI better. I'm not sure if it's still the state of the art, as I'm mostly in the Civ III area these days, but it's a vast improvement on the unmodded AI.

You are right though, some mods make lots of changes, but not to the AI, and the AI falls flat. I have been disappointed by this on occasion as well.