[BTS] Loading Modular Civs for Dummies

Mitchifer

Warlord
Howdy,

I am new to Civ4, and I am trying to load new civs onto the game with no avail. Specifically I'm trying to load modular BtS custom civs (I guess that's the right term).

I've scoured the forums looking for answers but nothing I've tried seems to work, including the plug-and-play guide. :cry:

Can anyone give me a guide on how to load these? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

You download the file, then save it to C:/Program Files/Firaxis Games/Sid Meier's Civilization IV/Beyond the Sword/Mods

after you do that, go to My Documents/My Games/Beyond the Sword and open the Civ4 ini file (open with Notepad or another text editor). Scroll down to where it says:
Modular XML Loading= 0
and change the 0 to a 1
Then load BTS, and go to Advanced--> Load a Mod from the main menu. There, you will find a list of various mods to play. Pick the one you have just downloaded, and there you go!

This is for Civ4 BTS Patch v3.13 and this is how you can do it also to make it work.

You download the file, then save or copy it to C:/Program Files/Firaxis Games/Sid Meier's Civilization IV/Beyond the Sword/Mods

Then load BTS, and go to Advanced--> Load a Mod from the main menu in this case the mod that you save to or copy to C:/Program Files/Firaxis Games/Sid Meier's Civilization IV/Beyond the Sword/Mods. There, you will find a list of various mods to play. Pick the one you have just downloaded, and there you go! Load that mod let it load then stop the mod and close out of the game.

After you do that, go back to C:/Program Files/Firaxis Games/Sid Meier's Civilization IV/Beyond the Sword/Mods and open the mod you downloaded its Civ4 ini file (open with Notepad or another text editor). Scroll down to where it says:
Modular XML Loading= 0 and change the 0 to 1 to look like this Modular XML Loading= 1 save and close.