City state mission - build a road

jlaform

Chieftain
I am new to Civ 5, but not to the Civ world, been a long time fan.

I have the mission to build a road to a citystate (have had this mission in a couple of games actually), I build a road that connects my capital and the city state, yet never get a completion for it. Have had my workers build extra roads between the two. Have troops guarding the road just to ensure that no barbarian is blocking the route etc.

Anyone know what I might be doing wrong or is this mission borked?

I am new to Civ 5, but not to the Civ world, been a long time fan.

I have the mission to build a road to a citystate (have had this mission in a couple of games actually), I build a road that connects my capital and the city state, yet never get a completion for it. Have had my workers build extra roads between the two. Have troops guarding the road just to ensure that no barbarian is blocking the route etc.

Anyone know what I might be doing wrong or is this mission borked?

It's a post-patch bug.

Bummer, but thanks for the answer, at least I know that I'm not doing anything wrong.

I'll just keep playing and see how I like (or dislike) this game.

Bummer, but thanks for the answer, at least I know that I'm not doing anything wrong.

I'll just keep playing and see how I like (or dislike) this game.

If you can be bothered to do so, you may want to pillage the roads so you don't get charged for them.

The 1.141 patch does not fix this either - I had a relatively close CS last night ask for a road, I built it, and no change (I was the Inca, if that makes any difference).

I take it the logic for this is buried somewhere that we can't directly modify - I've poked around looking for any hint of it in the xml, db, and whatever other files -- but no luck.