Civs founding cities...

Prozac1964

Warlord
I've just started playing on King a month ago and there is a trend that is ticking me off.
It's when another civ comes along and plops down a city touching my borders.
And sometimes more than one city.

An example: I'm on one continent with Sweden and Indonesia. Sweden is at the top of the map
spread out in a good strategic pattern (3 cities) and I settled England at the bottom of the map.
Then along came Indonesia and they dropped 2 cities touching my borders. That takes tiles away from me.
Then it gets all cramped up and threats start to fly.

Is there a reason why the AI does this. Lets another civ found cities in an aggressive manner?

I'm still a noob, so I'm asking the experienced players here. Thanks for any help. :)

If you look at the CiV interactive AI Bias chart at http://civdata.com/ you'll see Gajah has a boldness of 6 which is +/- 2 iirc so in your game be 8. I suspect that your diplomacy towards him wasn't too hot and that he want's to invade you. Classic sign. Another one is he is on another continent and needs those cities for his UA. Another one is he wants to send a trade caravan or 2 to you.

Usually the AI will also try to forward settle you if there's valuable resources just outside of your borders they want, which certainly makes it all the more annoying when they do it. My suggestion would be to have scouts situated outside of your borders to keep watch for intruders. When you see another civ's settler getting too close for comfort, ask that leader to not settle near you, or declare on them and try and take the settler if it has no unit protecting it. You can also try to trap the settler / stop it from passing with your own units if you have enough to spare, and culture bombing is always an option if all else fails.